Skip to main content

Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Family History: Other guides, directories and almanacs

This guide has been written to assist Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and South Sea Islander family historians locate sources available to them at James Cook University, as well as some suggestions for resources located elsewhere.

Australian servicemen during the two world wars

Many Australain Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people joined and served in or worked for the various military forces of Australia including before 1901. There are increasing amounts of research and material on this aspect of history. Most military records did not list a persons ethnic background and technically only Australians of substantial European extraction could enlist up until at least the 1950s.

James McClelland has written numerous books covering war casualty lists for Australian soldiers in various countries.  To locate, search Tropicat under 'Author' for 'McClelland James'.

Ball, D. (1991). Aborigines in the defence of Australia. Sydney: Australian National University Press. 940.5315039915 ABO

Charters Towers State High School. (1995). We fought for our country too: Charters Towers Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community experience of World War II. Charters Towers: The Author. NQ 940.5404 WE

.

Archives

Australian Archives. (1993). My heart is breaking: A joint guide to records about Aboriginal people in the Public Record Office of Victoria and the Archives, Victorian Regional Office. Canberra: AGPS. R 994.50049915016 AUS

Fraser, R. (1993). Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in Commonwealth records: a guide to records in the Australian Archives. Canberra: AGPS. R 305.89915016 AUS

Queensland State Archives. (1994). Records guide: A guide to Queensland government records relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Brisbane: Queensland State Archives & Department of Family Services and Aboriginal and Islander Affairs. R 305.89915016 QUE

Almanacs and directories

Port Denison Times Almanac and Directory, 1868              MC 897

Pugh's Almanac and Directory, 1859-1920                        MF R1-29

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country