Skip to main content

Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Family History: Home

This guide has been written to assist Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and South Sea Islander family historians locate sources available to them at James Cook University, as well as some suggestions for resources located elsewhere.

Introduction

This guide has been written to assist Australian Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and South Sea Islander family historians locate sources available to them at James Cook University Libraries in Cairns and Townsville.

There are also suggestions for resources located at other institutions and organisations either online or in physical form.

This guide does not provide a full listing of all titles available in our collection.

Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that resources located will contain names or images of deceased peoples. Additionally some historical materials may utilise language deemed offensive or contain information that may be confronting or upsetting.

Family history

Source: kakisky

What's in this guide?

  1. How the Library staff can help you, read more below
  2. How you can browse and borrow items
  3. General tips on how to organise  the records and information you discover during your family history research
  4. How to search for resources, as you will need to search the library collection via our online search tools One Search, Tropicat (catalogue), and our Special Collections and archive holdings
  5. Recommended items about Australian Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander or South Sea Islander people including North Queensland items held at the James Cook University Libraries located in Townsville and Cairns
  6. Links to other institutions and places to find resources
  7. How to get in touch with the library staff for help

How can JCU library service and its staff help you with your family history research?

James Cook University Library and Information Services are set up to provide support to our enrolled students, researchers and teaching staff. We also provide services to the general public.

James Cook University Library and Information Services Charter states we provide knowledge services to support the University’s high quality education and world-class research through innovative discovery and access to:

  • Information resources (electronic and print books and journals, databases, multimedia, archives, special collections, etc); and

  • Information services in the physical and virtual environments

Our Library Use Policy outlines in full detail the below basic facts relevant to the general public about community member access:

  • Members of the public can enter the library buildings and use the resources providing they have a legitimate need to do so and conform to JCU and Library rules and policies
  • To borrow items if you are not a current JCU student or staff member you can apply for a borrowing card

How can library staff assist you in your family history research?

Library staff will help:

  • Show you how to search our collection and interpret the results to find the items or do better searches
  • Explain borrowing guidelines
  • Give general advice on other family history services located locally, and tips for conducting and recording your family history
  • Australian Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and South Sea Islander descendent community members can make appointments with our Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Library Liaison Officer to ensure a staff member is available, otherwise walk in and speak to the InfoHelp desk staff on the ground floor of the Libraries for help

JCU library is not resourced to provide dedicated family history research staff to do the research for guests. Family history researchers are encouraged to come prepared to spend some time searching our catalouge on their own. If you are unable to physically get to the library some searching can be conducted online from your home, and library staff can advise if the resources can be accessed by external clients through other facilities.

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country