Skip to main content

Staying up to date: Alerting & current awareness services: Research Data

This guide provides information about how to set up alerts to be notified of new information in your field across resources such as journals, books, websites, conferences, research data and funding.

What is research data?

Research data is data that is collected, observed, or created for purposes of analysis to produce original research results (Boston University Libraries, n.d.).

Most research organisations and universities have research data repositories where information about the research and sometimes the actual data can be found.

There are a number of ways to track this data as detailed below.

ANDS - Australian National Data Service

Research Data Australia is the data discovery service of the Australian National Data Service (ANDS).

Create a free account to save searches so you can easily find new results. At this stage there is no email or RSS options for delivering new results.

You can find and save searches for JCU datasets by using the Advanced search and limiting the results to the Data Provider - JCU.

Data Journals

Data journals are publications whose primary purpose is to expose datasets and provide Table of Content alerts like other journals.Some examples include:

A paper by Candela et al (2015) discusses data journals in depth and reviews over 100 data journals.

To be alerted to new articles, subscribe to the journal's Table of Contents alerts.

Finding more data sources

Australian Data Archive

The Australian Data Archive (ADA) provides a national service for the collection and preservation of digital research data and to make these data available for secondary analysis by academic researchers and other users.

The ADA is comprised of seven sub-archives - Social Science, Historical, Indigenous, Longitudinal, Qualitative, Crime & Justice and International. See a list of feeds.

Data.gov.au

Data.gov.au provides an easy way to find, access and reuse public data.

This RSS feed shows new items added to the site. To subscribe click the Feed link.

Loading ...

CSIRO Data Access Portal

The CSIRO Data Access Portal provides access to research data, software and other digital assets published by CSIRO. This feed shows the latest editions to the portal.

You can create your own RSS feed by searching the portal and clicking the RSS feed icon at the top of the results list.

Loading ...

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country