Skip to main content

EndNote: Direct export

Manage references and citations in your writing and research

2. Direct Export

Apple

1. Before you start

2. Direct export from databases to EndNote on your Mac.

There is more information on Direct Export over here.

3. Cite While You Write (CWYW): Use EndNote to format your references while you write.

Downloading References Into EndNote

See the section on Collecting References for more information about exporting records directly from databases to EndNote.  The database side of things will work the same way whether you are using Windows or Mac, but there are changes on the EndNote library end of the process.

You may have difficulty exporting from databases if you are using Safari.  We recommend that you download and use Firefox for working with EndNote on a Mac.

Direct Export and Macs

Many databases allow you to save references directly from a marked list to your personal EndNote library. In the marked list area, you will see an option to save your selections in “Direct Export” format for EndNote. On the Mac this option will download the file to the Downloads folder on your Mac and not actually directly export the records into your EndNote library as a Windows PC would. 

  • There is a lot of variation among databases and you will not find the Direct Export option on every database, the file type will also vary between databases.
     
  • Generally speaking, when you export from a database you will be asked what application to use to open the file (drill through Application and pick EndNote X7), and then you will be asked what library to use.  This will happen even if you have the library open. 
     
  • If opening the downloaded file does not result in selected references appearing in your EndNote library, use the File > Import menu in EndNote and select the file from the Downloads area.
     
  • Remember to select the correct filetype to import e.g. RIS. 

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country