Skip to main content

Open Access Publishing: Open Access Databases

This guide explains the importance of Open Access publishing of research publications, how to go about Open Access publishing and suggests useful Open Access resources.

Open Access Directory

OAD logoThe Open Access Directory (OAD) is a compendium of simple factual lists about open access (OA) to science and scholarship, maintained by the OA community at large. By bringing many OA-related lists together, OAD makes it easier for everyone to discover them, use them for reference, and update them.

bioRxiv.org: the preprint server for biology

bioRxiv.org

bioRxiv is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.

arXiv.org

arXiv logo

A repository of scientific papers in the fields of mathematics, physics, astronomy, computer science, quantitative biology, statistics, and quantitative finance, which can be accessed online. In many fields of mathematics and physics, almost all scientific papers are self-archived on the arXiv. arXiv is hosted by Cornell University Library.

Australian Policy Online

Home

Policy Online is a research database and alert service providing free access to full text research reports and papers, statistics and other resources essential for public policy development and implementation in Australia and New Zealand.

List of open access journals

wikiwand logo

This is a list of open-access journals by discipline. The list contains notable journals which have a policy of full open access.

You might also consider publishing in an open access megajournal. Megajournals are designed to be much larger than a traditional journal, accepting articles for publication based on whether they are technically sound rather than selecting for perceived importance.

These lists do not include delayed open access journals, hybrid open access journals, or related collections or indexing services.

This list is available on Wikiwand. This means that, if you know of an open access journal that you recommend, you can contribute it to the list.

SOCARXIV: open archive of the social sciences

SOCARXIV

SocArXiv is dedicated to opening up social science, to reach more people more effectively, to improve research, and build the future. SocArXiv is directed by a steering committee of sociologists and members of the research library community.

Social Science Research Network: SSRN

SSRN logo
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. SSRN has received several excellence awards for their web site.

Each of SSRN's networks encourages the early distribution of research results by publishing Submitted abstracts and by soliciting abstracts of top quality research papers around the world. We now have hundreds of journals, publishers, and institutions in Partners in Publishing that provide working papers for distribution through SSRN's eLibrary and abstracts for publication in SSRN's electronic journals.

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country