Skip to Main Content
Library Guides
Aboriginal Australian studies
Aboriginal Studies Electronic Data Archives
Computer-based (digital) materials about Australian Indigenous languages
The AustKin Project
Select or search for particular languages or kinship features
Berndt Museum of Anthropology
Based at the University of Western Australia, the Museum holds extensive collections of Australian Aboriginal art and Aboriginal cultural materials, as well as collections from Melanesia, Asia and South-East Asia. Many of these items may be viewed in this virtual museum.
Donald Thomson collection
The collection has almost 7500 artefacts and 2000 biological specimens collected mainly on Cape York (1928-33), in Arnhem Land (1935-37, 1942-43), and from the Great Sandy Desert and the Gibson Desert of Western Australia (1957, 1963, 1965)
Museums & galleries
British Museum: search online service
Images and detailed text about hundreds of artefacts in the museum
Division of Anthropology, American Museum of Natural History
Since 1873, the American Museum of Natural History (AMNH) has been home to a group of superb anthropologists, from Clark Wissler to Margaret Mead, Nels Nelson, David Hurst Thomas, George Valliant, Charles Spencer, and Ian Tattersall. These and many more distinguished curators in the museum's Division of Anthropology have conducted fieldwork all over the globe for more than a century, and these Web pages offer the material and textual products of their work.
National Anthropological Archives
A collection within the Smithsonian Institution, which collects and preserves historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and history. Its collections represent ethnology, linguistics, archaeology, and physical anthropology
Smithsonian Institution homepage
Gateway to the Smithsonian's sixteen museums and galleries, the National Zoo, and numerous research facilities in the US and overseas
Neanderthal Museum
Among the most popular archaeological museums in Germany with exhibits centered on human evolution.
Organisations
Australian Anthropological Society
Information about the Society, membership, and conferences
American Anthropological Association
Information on membership, meetings, ethics, publications, and directories
Centre for Social Anthropology and Computing (CSAC) Ethnographics Gallery
Excellent site for information and projects on computing in anthropology, by the University of Kent. This site contains the outline and full text of research projects (including digitised documents), searchable databases of bibliographies and theses in Social Anthropology, and the Anthroglobe electronic journal
Centre for Pacific and Asian Studies
Concentrates on research by regions, including Australia, New Zealand, Asia, and Southeast Asia. Also publishes online newsletter, Oceania Newsletter
English Heritage
UK government's advisor on the built environment, also promotes public understanding and enjoyment. The site contains information on conservation, research, education, and a link to the Ancient Monuments Laboratory also provides guidance on archaeological science and conservation issues
Association of Social Anthropologists
Information on membership, conferences, ethics, and publications
We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA) 4.0 International License. Content from this Guide should be attributed to James Cook University Library. This does not apply to images, third party material (seek permission from the original owner) or any logos or insignia belonging to JCU or other bodies, which remain All Rights Reserved.
.
