The ‘Find It’ icon (or ‘Find It @ JCU Library’ link) is available in many databases. It will provide a link to the full text of a citation or reference where we have a subscription. Click on it when it appears next to the article you want. If the full text is not available digitally it will give you options for locating the item in the print collection or from other sources.
Hints and tips
Found a reference or citation but can't find the full text?
Do a journal title search in the Library catalogue to see if we have a paper subscription. If the paper copy is on another campus, complete a journal article request form and the article will be emailed to you. (This service is only available to students in Australia).
Try One Search or Google with the title in "inverted commas" to force a phrase search - you might get lucky and find the full text online.
The InfoSkills Toolkit is a self-paced training tool to help you understand what is needed to unpack your assignment question, work out the keywords for your research, find good quality sources and reference them appropriately.
There are four modules, and you can work through them in order, or jump straight to the part you need. Come back to the guide whenever you need a refresher on basic searching skills.
MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
Available to James Cook University users only.
One Search coverage 0%
The authoritative abstract and index service (A&I) for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. It includes full-text journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, research instruments and clinical trials.
Emcare on Ovid covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
Available to James Cook University users only. One Search coverage 100%
PEDro provides free access to over 29,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible.
The premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine studies, providing full-text content from many respected journals. It is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Limited to 4 concurrent users.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to help people make well-informed decisions about healthcare and health policy, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
AusDI delivers rapid access to Australia's most comprehensive and up-to-date database of independent drug monographs, pharmaceutical company product information (PI), consumer medicine information (CMI) documents, product summaries, drug product images and Interactions and Safety monographs.
Indexing service covering references to the primary literature in life sciences and biomedical research. James Cook University has access to information from the period 1926-2015. Includes coverage of Biological Abstracts.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine journal citation database providing over 22 million references to biomedical and life sciences journal articles dating back to 1946. It is a subset of the PubMed database which is freely available.
PsychiatryOnline features DSM-5™ and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references which also includes access to journals, textbooks, self-assessment tools, clinical & research news from Psychiatric News, and medication information handouts for patients.
Clinical search engine that supports physicians and nurses in clinical decision making. Resources available include journals, ebooks, drug monographs, guidelines, multimedia, patient education and procedures consult.
Provides access to DSM-5™ and The American Journal of Psychiatry as well as journals, textbooks, self-assessment tools, clinical & research news from Psychiatric News, and medication information handouts for patients.
A database of independent drug monographs, pharmaceutical company product information (PI), consumer medicine information (CMI) documents, product summaries, drug product images and Interactions and Safety monographs.
We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA) 4.0 International License. Content from this Guide should be attributed to James Cook University Library. This does not apply to images, third party material (seek permission from the original owner) or any logos or insignia belonging to JCU or other bodies, which remain All Rights Reserved.