Skip to main content

PY2106: Human Development Across the Lifespan Guide: Subject Basics

Your librarians

Textbook & recommended texts

Textbook: Lifespan development: A chronological approach (4th Aust. ed.)

This book explores human physical, cognitive and social development within an Australian and New Zealand context. The text provides comprehensive theory coverage via the latest local and international research in this ever evolving field.

Lifespan development: A chronological approach (3rd Aust. ed.)

This book explores human physical, cognitive and social development within an Australian and New Zealand context. The text provides comprehensive theory coverage via the latest local and international research in this ever evolving field.

Life Span Human Development

This locally adapted textbook helps students gain a deeper understanding of the many interacting forces affecting infancy, childhood, adolescence and adulthood. It includes local, multicultural and indigenous issues and perspectives, local research in development, regionally relevant statistical information, and National guidelines on health.

Life-span development

This text provides a comprehensive roadmap to the life-span development subject material, clearly pointing out the core concepts fundamental to students.

Handbook of Life-Span Development

The handbook is an impressive collection of research studies and theories provided by knowledgeable contributors on life-span development from conception to old age."--Anthropology and Aging Quarterly

Recommended Films

Cinderella

When Cinderella's cruel stepmother prevents her from attending the Royal Ball, she gets some unexpected help from the lovable mice Gus and Jaq, and from her Fairy Godmother.

Everybody's Fine

A widower who realized his only connection to his family was through his wife sets off on an impromptu road trip to reunite with each of his grown children.

In Her Shoes

Straight-laced Rose breaks off relations with her party girl sister, Maggie, over an indiscretion involving Rose's boyfriend. The chilly atmosphere is broken with the arrival of Ella, the grandmother neither sister knew existed.

John Q

A down-on-his luck father, whose insurance won't cover his son's heart transplant, takes the hospital's emergency room hostage until the doctors agree to perform the operation.

Love Actually

Follows the lives of eight very different couples in dealing with their love lives in various loosely and interrelated tales all set during a frantic month before Christmas in London, England.

The Princess and the Frog

A fairy tale set in Jazz Age-era New Orleans and centered on a young woman named Tiana and her fateful kiss with a frog prince who desperately wants to be human again.

Raising Helen

After her sister and brother-in-law die in a car accident, a young woman becomes the guardian of their three children.

Shrek

An ogre, in order to regain his swamp, travels along with an annoying donkey in order to bring a princess to a scheming lord, wishing himself King.

Sleeping Beauty

A snubbed malevolent fairy casts a curse on a princess that only a prince can break, with the help of three good fairies.

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs

Snow White, pursued by a jealous queen, hides with the Dwarfs; the queen feeds her a poison apple, but Prince Charming awakens her with a kiss.

Step Brothers

Two aimless middle-aged losers still living at home are forced against their will to become roommates when their parents get married.

Still Alice

A linguistics professor and her family find their bonds tested when she is diagnosed with Alzheimer's Disease.

Tangled

The magically long-haired Rapunzel has spent her entire life in a tower, but now that a runaway thief has stumbled upon her, she is about to discover the world for the first time, and who she really is.

The Truth About Emanuel

A troubled girl becomes preoccupied with her mysterious new neighbor, who bears a striking resemblance to her dead mother.

Yours, Mine and Ours

A widowed Coast Guard Admiral and a widow handbag designer fall in love and marry, much to the dismay of her 10 and his 8 children.

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country