Browse topic-specific publications, or look at the biennially released publication: Australia's Welfare.
Most of the reports include detailed data tables - look for a Data tab.
Publishes a wide range of statistics relating to many aspects of Australian life.
Also look at Community Profiles and Socio-Economic Indexes for Area, produced from Census data.
Government department providing research reports and statistics on criminal justice, homicide, deaths in custody, fraud, violent crime, illicit drugs, federal offences and victims of crime.
Produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies
The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) is Australia’s national statistical agency and an official source of independent, reliable information. They provide key statistics on a broad range of topics including trade, finance, employment, industry, tourism, technology, housing, population and regional trends.
Most statistical publications on the ABS website can be accessed free of charge without login.
The ABS also provides access to detailed data that can be manipulated through a number of tools such as TableBuilder or MicroData. JCU has access to these products as part of our University agreement. These products require you to register and create a free account with the ABS to access data. Some components may also be restricted to staff and higher degree research students and will require you to attend training before you are able to access the data.
Access to ABS published statistics.
Access to MicroData and TableBuilder. Registration using your JCU email is required to access this data.
Federal Register of Legislation This link opens in a new window
Click Acts in Force for current principal legislation; or Legislative Instruments in Force for current principal regulations.
Click View Series on an Act or Regulation homepage to view historical versions.
Click Browse legislation titles then choose the Category Acts or Subordinate Legislation (for Regulations).
View point-in-time (historical) versions from Act and Regulation homepages.
Click In force then browse Acts or Statutory Instruments (for Regulations).
View point-in-time (historical) versions from Act and Regulation homepages.
Northern Territory Legislation
Click Acts or Subordinate Legislation (for Regulations).
Click View History Listing on an Act or Regulation homepage for historical versions.
Click In force legislation, then browse Acts or Subordinate Legislation (for Regulations).
Access point-in-time (historical) versions from Act and Regulation homepages.
Click Acts or Regulations and Rules.
View historical versions from Act and Regulation homepages.
Click Browse > In Force Legislation for Acts and Statutory Rules.
Click Legislative History from an Act or Rule homepage, then click a Date of Commencement for historical versions.
Click In force, then Acts in force or Statutory rules in force (for Regulations).
Click Version history from an Act or Rules homepage for historical versions.
Western Australian Legislation
Click In force under Acts or Subsidiary legislation (for Regulations).
Click Versions of this Act from an Act homepage for historical versions.
To find legislation on a topic, try keyword searches on the legislation register websites above or on AustLII.
Freely available Australian database containing full-text legislation & case law. Also includes journals, law reform papers and and subject specific collections.
Start here to find links to current Royal Commission websites; as well as reports and documents for recently concluded Commonwealth Royal Commissions. Also includes a link to historic Royal Commissions on the Parliament of Australia website.
State Governments may also call Royal Commissions, and these will have their own website. Try searching Google for the title of the Royal Commission. You could also use the 'site' limit to narrow your results. E.g.:
site:vic.gov.au "Royal Commission"
Reports of Royal Commissions and Public Inquiries from the Commonwealth and all states and territories, from the 1850s to date.
Parliamentary Committees are often formed to investigate a specific issue and provide the community with a way to have a say on topical or policy issues. Browse or search the Parliamentary websites below for Committee documents, including terms of reference and final reports.
Access Joint, Senate & House of Representative Committee documents.
Access Standing and Select Committee documents.
Access Joint, Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council Committee documents.
Access Legislative Assembly Committee documents.
Access Parliamentary Committee documents.
Access Standing, Select, Joint, Administrative and Sessional Committee documents.
Access Joint, Legislative Council and House of Assembly Committee documents.
Access Joint Investigatory, Standing, Select and Domestic Committee documents.
Access Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly Committee documents.
Biennial AIHW report
AIHW key findings on Family, domestic and sexual violence (FDSV). This AIHW website provides a comprehensive picture of FDSV in Australia.
Australian Institute of Health & Welfare website with various reports and data relating to older Australians.
This book is intended for staff and students and all who work in areas that support Indigenous mental health and wellbeing. It offers a comprehensive examination of issues and strategies influencing Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander mental health and social and emotional wellbeing.
Australian Institute of Health & Welfare website with various reports and data relating to children & young people.
Research to inform government policy and family services.
When URL is long or complex you may use a short version of the URL.
Use a URL shortener site such as Bitly or TinyURL to create manageable URL's
Example:
Long URL
https://www.aihw.gov.au/getmedia/2e5a7bd9-4465-4fb6-8fca-041f0c874cb7/13426.pdf.asp
Short URL
https://bit.ly/2rprcj5
*Both URL's will access the same document
We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA) 4.0 International License, unless otherwise noted. Content from this Guide should be attributed to James Cook University Library. This does not apply to images, third party material (seek permission from the original owner) or any logos or insignia belonging to JCU or other bodies, which remain All Rights Reserved.
