Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law Guide: Journal articles

Find targeted resources for legal research
Journals are another good starting point for finding legal scholarship on a particular topic. There is not necessarily a "one stop shop" to look for journals, but this page will give you an idea of where to get started and where to check to make sure you've covered your bases.

 

If you find you cannot locate a particular journal article from any of our databases, please contact us so we can advise.

Informit Databases

Informit is a platform with multiple databases on it. One of the databases is called the Attorney General's Information Service, or AGIS Plus Text. This database contains a number of law journals, newsletters, bulletins, and other information on legal topics with a specific Australian context.

To search this database, type in your keyword into the red search bar. Take note of the different boxes you can select to filter your search. Once you are on the results page you can further refine by author, resource type, publication date, source, or even if it mentions a specific legal case or legislation.

Lexis Advance Pacific

To access the below journals on Lexis Advance Pacific, simply log-on to Lexis Advance and navigate to the publications box on the right-hand side. Click on View All AU Publications, then navigate on the left-hand side by Content Type by clicking AU Secondary Materials. On the results page, you can further refine by clicking More under Content Type and then selecting Journals.

Alternatively you can search on your keywords in the big red search bar, on the results page navigate to the Secondary Materials tab and refine your results on the left-hand side.

  • Australian Journal of Corporate Law
  • Australian Journal of Family Law
  • Australian Property Law Journal
  • Journal of Contract Law
  • Torts Law Journal

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a good place to start when you are scoping out resources on a topic. Keep your search terms broad and simple.

It is also wise to check and see if you are getting access to JCU subscribed resources. To do this, go to the three horizontal bars on the front page of Google Scholar, then click on Settings > Library Links. Check to see if JCU Library is ticked. If it isn't, simply search for JCU and tick the box before clicking Save.

Westlaw Australia

To access the below journals on the Westlaw Australia platform, simply go to the Westlaw Australia homepage, click on Secondary Sources, click on Law Reviews & Journals under the By Type section and navigate from there. You can select all items and conduct a keyword search, or go to the desired journal and navigate by year and volume number.

  • Australasian Dispute Resolution Journal
  • Australian Business Law Review
  • Australian Intellectual Property Journal
  • Australian Journal of Administrative Law
  • Australian Journal of Competition and Consumer Law
  • Australian Law Journal
  • Australian Tax Review
  • Building and Construction Law Journal
  • Company and Securities Law Journal
  • Criminal Law Journal
  • Environmental and Planning Law Journal
  • Insolvency Law Journal
  • Journal of Banking and Finance Law and Practice
  • Journal of Civil Litigation and Practice
  • Journal of Judicial Administration
  • Journal of Law and Medicine
  • Local Government Law Journal
  • Melbourne Journal of International Law
  • Melbourne University Law Review
  • Northern Territory Law Journal
  • Property Law Review
  • Public Law Review
  • Queensland Lawyer
  • Sydney Law Review
  • Tort Law Review

Multidisciplinary databases

Given that law can work across the social sciences, some legal topics may be discussed in journals from a number of multidisciplinary areas. The databases listed below cover a wide range of areas, ranging from the sciences to humanities and arts, education, medicine and more.

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country

Creative Commons Licence
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA) 4.0 International License. Content from this Guide should be attributed to James Cook University Library. This does not apply to images, third party material (seek permission from the original owner) or any logos or insignia belonging to JCU or other bodies, which remain All Rights Reserved.

.