Library Guides: Law Guide: Commentaries

CCH IntelliConnect is a specialist law database. It covers a range of topics including: Business law, sport & medical law, tax, family law, environment, intellectual property, and may others. CCH contains legal commentaries, online books, and other useful tools to get you started with your research. Start with a keyword search in the top search bar, then narrow your results by filtering on the left-hand side by topic area, document type, or jurisdiction.

If you are getting started on a topic - check to see if there is a Roadmap available under the document type tab. Roadmaps give you an overview of the area and point you towards relevant summaries and law.

CCH iKnowConnect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to publications in the CCH tax, corporations, family, torts, and conveyancing law collections. Includes titles such as the Australian Company Law Cases and the Australian Master Tax Guide.
Available to James Cook University users only.

ASIC Corporate Investigations and Hearings
ASIC Corporate Investigations and Hearings is a highly practical service providing detailed coverage of the investigation and enforcement methods used by ASIC when performing its regulatory functions under the ASIC Act, Corporations Act, consumer credit legislation and superannuation/retirement savings accounts legislation.
Australian Governance Professionals Handbook
The Australian Governance Professionals Handbook is a valuable resource presented in clear, non-legalistic language to help corporate governance professionals handle all administrative and compliance practices required under the Corporations Act.
Bankruptcy in Australia - A Guidebook
Bankruptcy in Australia - A Guidebook is a concise and practical commentary-style service. The chapters follow the natural order of a bankruptcy proceeding, guiding users through necessary steps with analysis and detailed discussion. This product includes checklists, handy hints, practice tips, suggested solutions to common problems, lists of Registrars and trustees, contact names/addresses for AFSA.
Corporations Legislation Service
Corporations Legislation includes the Corporations Act 2001, Australian Securities and Investments Commission Act 2001 and associated Acts and Regulations fully consolidated to 1 January each year. Designed for use by practitioners, business professionals and anyone with an interest in Corporations Law.
Not-for-Profit Best Practice Manual
Not-For-Profit Best Practice Manual is the first consolidated resource for Board and Committee members within Australian Incorporated Associations and Companies Limited by Guarantee, and their supporting lawyers and accountants, providing advice across every aspect of setting up and running an NFP organisation, from formation, taxation, governance, fundraising, privacy, intellectual property, litigation, dispute resolution and winding up.

Quick on Costs
Quick on Costs examines the law of costs, contemporary issues impacting on traditional costs law and a comparative evolution of costs law in Australia and England. It reviews the principles and practices of costs law applied in the Supreme Courts of the States and Territories, the Federal, Family and High Courts of Australia and the English High Court.
Queensland Civil Practice
Queensland Civil Practice offers a detailed guide to court practice and procedure in Queensland under the regime of the Uniform Civil Procedure Rules. It provides the text of relevant legislation with annotations, schedules of costs and fees plus thorough commentary on civil practice.
High Court Practice
High Court Practice provides you with insightful commentary in a clear, straightforward style. High Court Practice includes everything you need for High Court proceedings.
Civil Procedure Queensland
Civil Procedure Queensland has become the significant practitioners’ work facilitating the proper use and interpretation of Queensland’s Uniform Civil Procedure Rules.

Australian Law of Contract
Australia Law of Contact provides detailed analysis of the law of contract for Australian practitioners.
Building and Construction Contracts in Australia
Dorter & Sharkey, Building and Construction Contracts in Australia: Law and Practice, is an authoritative and a detailed guide to the principal standard forms of building and construction contract currently in use in Australia.
Commercial Contract Clauses
Commercial Contract Clauses: Principles and Interpretation is the first systematic analysis of the process of construing and interpreting commercial contracts on a clause-by-clause basis.
Computer Contracts
Computer Contracts: Principles & Precedents, which has a national and international focus, provides a a broad range of continuously updated template and sample technology agreements and supporting commentary.
Modern Contract of Guarantee
Modern Contract of Guarantee provides readers with a thorough knowledge of the law relating to guarantees. This knowledge enables lawyers to minimise financial risk to their clients and/or fully prepare for litigation. Banking and finance professionals need to understand their legal obligations and duties to customers and third parties in order to minimise the risk of loan default and/or costly litigation.

Australian Sentencing
Organised by offence, Australian Sentencing covers the factors that are particularly important for each offence, as well as the applicable sentencing tariffs.
Carter's Criminal Law of Queensland
Carter’s Criminal Law of Queensland consists of annotated legislation. The topic areas with the densest amount of annotations to legislation include the Criminal Code (Qld), Criminal Law Amendment Acts, Drugs, Summary Offences, Firearms, Criminal Practice Rules, Bail, Procedure, Evidence, Sentencing, Mental Health, Police Powers, Confiscation and Justices.
Federal Offences
Federal Offences is the encyclopaedic, practice-oriented compendium of federal offences and procedure for the judiciary, lawyers and police.
Indictable Offences Queensland
Indictable Offences Queensland is the essential guide for practitioners in the criminal jurisdiction of the Queensland District and Supreme Courts.
Queensland Sentencing Manual
The Queensland Sentencing Manual is a practical resource designed for those involved with sentencing and criminal law in Queensland. The service offers: a guide to the Penalties and Sentences Act 1992 (Qld) as well as commentary on model sentencing orders, sentencing orders for juveniles, maximum penalties, governing principles of sentencing, factors personal to the offender, plea of guilty, recording a conviction, sentencing hearings and appeals.
Ross on Crime
Ross on Crime is a comprehensive A-Z guide to over 350 major terms and principles relating to criminal law practice. Set out in dictionary style, it includes references to thousands of relevant cases and lists details of comparative legislation for all Australian jurisdictions, including those governed by Criminal Codes.
Summary Offences Qld
Summary Offences Queensland is the only service of its kind specifically dedicated to practitioners in the criminal jurisdiction of the Magistrates Court of Queensland.
Uniform Evidence Law
Uniform Evidence Law is the only service dedicated to comprehensively annotating the Uniform Evidence legislation, especially as the implementation of the Uniform Evidence Law has dramatically changed the way in which evidence law itself is structured.

Australian CGT Handbook
The Australian CGT Handbook provides a comprehensive coverage of the Australian capital gains tax provisions, together with realistic examples, crucial practical tips and warnings.
Australian Tax Handbook
The Australian Tax Handbook online edition is a comprehensive resource covering the full spectrum of income tax law, related taxes and tax reform.
List of Taxes Commentary
A complete list of 25 resources available in Westlaw Australia related to tax and duties. Includes handbooks, annotated legislation, commentary, and other useful information.
Tax Rates and Tables
A reference guide that combines comprehensive coverage of Australian tax rates, Tax Rates & Tables offers a wealth of practical information and tools.