Skip to Main Content

JCU logoLibrary Guides

Celebrating Townsville Exhibition - The Artists

Educational resources regarding the artists participating in JCU Library's "Celebrating Townsville" exhibition for the T150 project

JCU Library Special Collections T150 Project

TOWNSVILLE PAST & PRESENT:

The City’s visual history drawn from the Special Collections of James Cook University Library

In 2016, during the series of events celebrating Townsville’s 150 anniversary, JCU Library and Information Services in partnership with JCU Media Journalism, Umbrella Studio contemporary arts and the Townsville Bulletin were proud to present the visual history of Townsville drawn from the JCU Library Special Collections and the JCU Art Collection.

James Cook University Library maintains collections of unique and rare materials of cultural and historical significance to Australia with a focus on north Queensland and the tropics. Special Collections includes a significant body of highly visual materials showcasing the history and development of the city of Townsville, and the James Cook University Art Collection includes major artworks by many Townsville based artists.

The events programme included an exhibition of selected artworks from the JCU Art Collection followed by an exhibition seminar at James Cook University and curatorial displays of artworks and artefacts displayed at the Mabo Library throughout the year.

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country

Creative Commons Licence
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA) 4.0 International License. Content from this Guide should be attributed to James Cook University Library. This does not apply to images, third party material (seek permission from the original owner) or any logos or insignia belonging to JCU or other bodies, which remain All Rights Reserved.

.