Library Guides: Dentistry Guide: Getting Started

Library services

Your librarians

Gabriella Rogina
Liaison Librarian
Stephen Anderson
Senior Liaison Librarian

Online dental training video collection

Alexander Street Press Dental Education in Video
Dental Education in Video is a video encyclopedia of dentistry and dental technique, delivering instant online access to hundreds of high-definition videos featuring world-renowned clinicians and educators. It provides hundreds of hours of demonstrations from American Dental Association-approved content partners, together with interviews and lectures, for students and faculty in dental surgery, medicine, oral hygiene, assisting, and nursing.

Introduction to AMA Vancouver 11th edition

Key databases for Dentistry

There are some really good databases available for finding information in Dentistry. We would recommend getting started with the following:

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources. Follow these instructions to see links to Library resources.
Medline (Pubmed) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine journal citation database providing over 22 million references to biomedical and life sciences journal articles dating back to 1946. It is a subset of the PubMed database which is freely available.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides citation indexes spanning every discipline.
Available to James Cook University users only.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The authoritative abstract and index service (A&I) for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. It includes full-text journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, research instruments and clinical trials.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to help people make well-informed decisions about healthcare and health policy, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Anatomy.tv This link opens in a new window
Medically accurate and detailed 3D rendering of human anatomy based on imaging data. Includes anatomy, physiology, clinical content and therapies.
Available to James Cook University users only.
eTG complete This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed clinical therapeutic guidelines covering a range of topics. Includes drug information, patient information and calculators.
Available to James Cook University users only.

Video Tutorials for Finding Articles

Searching basics part 1
Learn about the Six Steps of Searching, keywords, synonyms, and developing search strategies.
Searching basics part 2
Look at how to use the Six Steps of Search in a real life search.