JCU Library

Referencing Guides

Skip to Main Content

EndNote

Attaching files and full text

There are two ways to attach full text in EndNote. 

  1. Use the Find Full Text function to search for articles and attach them automatically.  This process is not always successful as it depends on a variety of factors, but it will save you time when it works well. 
    NB: The Find Full Text function currently only works for Open Access material
  2. Manually attach files that you cannot find using the Find Full Text function

 

EndNote 20 & 21 - Setting up the Find Full Text Function

Please Note: EndNote currently has difficulty finding full text for articles that require Open Athens authentication, so the Find Full Text function currently only works with Open Access material and works held in PubMed.

  1. In EndNote, go to  Edit > Preferences (Windows) or go to EndNote 21 tab > Preferences (Mac)
     
  2. In the EndNote Preferences box select Find Full Text from the left menu 
     
  3. Copy the following URLs into the boxes:

OpenURL Path box:

https://jcu.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/61ARL_JCU/61ARL_JCU:JCU

 

Once the preferences have been set up, select the records for which you want EndNote to find full text in your library, and click on:

References > Find Full Text > Find Full Text

If EndNote can access the full text of the articles, it will add them to the record. If it cannot access the full text, you will see the record listed in the Not found section of your groups pane. You can then find the full text through another means and attach it to those records.

 

EndNote 21 - Using the Find Full Text Function

  1. Select the reference(s) you want search
  2. Click the Find Full Text icon 
  3. When you use the Find Full Text function you may be asked to log in: Use your your JCU username (jc######) and normal JCU password
  4. Click Continue (not Update)

Authentication does time out, so you may need to authenticate again at some point.

EndNote will attempt to locate the full text of the selected reference(s). You can see the progress and results of the search in the Find Full Text menu on the left.

 

Find full text searching image

 

Working with PDFs and other attachments: A Live Class Recording

This video from Charles Sturt University contains instructions on attaching and annotating PDFs manually:

Manually attach files

  1. Find and download the PDF file you want to attach
  2. Right-click in the File Attachments field and select File Attachments > Attach File... Screenshot of Endnote with File Attachment, Attach File highlighted.

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country

Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA) 4.0 International License, unless otherwise noted. Content from this Guide should be attributed to James Cook University Library. This does not apply to images, third party material (seek permission from the original owner) or any logos or insignia belonging to JCU or other bodies, which remain All Rights Reserved.

.