Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JCU logo

EndNote

Attaching files and full text

There are two ways to attach full text in EndNote. 

  1. Use the Find Full Text function to search for articles and attach them automatically.  This process is not always successful as it depends on a variety of factors, but it will save you time when it works well. 
  2. Manually attach files that you cannot find using the Find Full Text function

 

EndNote X9 & 20 - Setting up the Find Full Text Function

  1. In EndNote, go to  Edit > Preferences (Windows) or go to EndNote > Preferences (Mac)
     
  2. In the EndNote Preferences box select Find Full Text from the left menu 
     
  3. Copy the following URLs into the boxes:

OpenURL Path box:

https://jcu.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/61ARL_JCU/61ARL_JCU:JCU?

Authenticate with box:

https://sso.jcu.edu.au/cas/login 

 

 

Find full text settings image

EndNote 20 - Using the Find Full Text Function

  1. Select the reference(s) you want search
  2. Click the Find Full Text icon 
  3. When you use the Find Full Text function you may be asked to log in: Use your your JCU username (jc######) and normal JCU password
  4. Click Continue (not Update)

Authentication does time out, so you may need to authenticate again at some point.

EndNote will attempt to locate the full text of the selected reference(s). You can see the progress and results of the search in the Find Full Text menu on the left.

 

Find full text searching image

 

EndNote X9 - Using the Find Full Text function

  1. Select the reference(s) you want search. Then click the Find Full text button 
  2. The Find Full text login box will appear. Note, you may get a Script Error message appearing on a PC. If this occurs, click Yes (or No) until it disappears
  3. If you are off campus you will need to login. If you see a page with 'Resources EZproxy is Configured for' then you are already logged in.
  4. Click Continue
  5. EndNote will attempt to locate the full text of the selected reference(s). You can see the progress and results of the search in the Find Full Text menu at the bottom of your My Library menu. 

Screenshot of Endnote, Find Full Text.

EndNote 20 - Find Full Text

Find Full Text

1 minute 53 seconds

EndNote X9 - Find Full Text

3 minutes 23 seconds

Working with PDFs and other attachments: A Live Class Recording

This video contains instructions on finding and attaching PDF articles and how to annotate PDF articles within EndNote.

Instructions on annotating PDFs start at 18:30 mins.

Manually attach files

  1. Find and download the PDF file you want to attach
  2. Right-click in the File Attachments field and select File Attachments > Attach File... Screenshot of Endnote with File Attachment, Attach File highlighted.

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country