One Search is a great place to start your research, it's like Google for the library. Here you will find books, ebooks, journal articles plus many more useful resources.
A library database is a collection of quality information that can be focused on a specific subject area or deal with general (multidisciplinary) sources. Databases hold articles that are accessible through a subscription purchased by the Library. This allows students to access reliable and relevant content at no charge.
The most useful databases for Engineering are listed below, however for a full list of accessible databases visit A-Z Databases.
The IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) provides access to the IEEE core collection of engineering, electronics, and computer science periodicals.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science provides citation indexes spanning every discipline.
Standards Australia (SAI Global)
Joint ISO/Australian Standards, Joint NZ/Australian Standards, Draft Australian Standards, and amendments to Australian Standards ONLY.
American Chemical Society Journal Collection
The American Society of Civil Engineers provides online access to a high-quality collection of civil engineering journals.
Cambridge Science, Technology and medical (STM) Journals
James Cook University's current access to Cambridge University Press journals is predominantly in the areas of Science, Technology and Medicine with some added Australian journals. JCU retains access to other Cambridge University Press journals but only to 2016.
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database from the Royal Society of Chemistry and provides fast access to over 58 million structures, properties, and associated information.
CSIRO Publishing publishes journals presenting the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists and covering a broad range of subjects.
We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA) 4.0 International License. Content from this Guide should be attributed to James Cook University Library. This does not apply to images, third party material (seek permission from the original owner) or any logos or insignia belonging to JCU or other bodies, which remain All Rights Reserved.