An easily accessible quick reference providing brief definitions, descriptions, and explanations. The purpose of this text is to advance the confidence of speech-language pathology (SLP) clinicians working in medically related settings by familiarizing them with the language, principles, practices, and procedures they will encounter.
This collection is the first of its kind to examine the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the caseloads and clinical practice of speech-language pathologists. Featuring perspectives of scholars and practitioners from around the globe, the book examines the ways in which clinicians have had to modify their working practices to prioritise patient and clinician safety, including the significant increase in the use of telepractice during the pandemic.
How do children acquire language? How does real life language acquisition differ from results found in controlled environments? And how is modern life challenging established theories? The International Handbook of Language Acquisition is essential reading for graduate students and researchers in language acquisition across developmental psychology, developmental neuropsychology, linguistics, early childhood education, and communication disorders.
Clinical Cases in Augmentative and Alternative Communication
Carefully grounded in evidence-based clinical practice, the book highlights the diversity of potential applications for AAC across a wide range of client groups, including children and adults with developmental disabilities, as well as adults with acquired impairments.
This book links research to clinical practice with studies of parents perceptions of their involvement in their childs intervention, and their relationship with the Speech-Language Pathologist (SLP) being used to inform clinicians of the most effective ways of interacting with and involving parents in SLP intervention.
MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
Available to James Cook University users only.
One Search coverage 0%
The authoritative abstract and index service (A&I) for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. It includes full-text journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, research instruments and clinical trials.
Emcare on Ovid covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
Available to James Cook University users only. One Search coverage 100%
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to help people make well-informed decisions about healthcare and health policy, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.
AusDI delivers rapid access to Australia's most comprehensive and up-to-date database of independent drug monographs, pharmaceutical company product information (PI), consumer medicine information (CMI) documents, product summaries, drug product images and Interactions and Safety monographs.
Indexing service covering references to the primary literature in life sciences and biomedical research. James Cook University has access to information from the period 1926-2015. Includes coverage of Biological Abstracts.
This education database contains information for speech pathologists/therapists working in schools. It also links to some journals relevant to applied linguistics regarding language teaching and learning.
Available to James Cook University users only. One Search coverage 0%
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine journal citation database providing over 22 million references to biomedical and life sciences journal articles dating back to 1946. It is a subset of the PubMed database which is freely available.
PsychiatryOnline features DSM-5™ and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references which also includes access to journals, textbooks, self-assessment tools, clinical & research news from Psychiatric News, and medication information handouts for patients.
The InfoSkills Toolkit is a self-paced training tool to help you understand what is needed to unpack your assignment question, work out the keywords for your research, find good quality sources and reference them appropriately.
There are four modules, and you can work through them in order, or jump straight to the part you need. Come back to the guide whenever you need a refresher on basic searching skills.
We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA) 4.0 International License. Content from this Guide should be attributed to James Cook University Library. This does not apply to images, third party material (seek permission from the original owner) or any logos or insignia belonging to JCU or other bodies, which remain All Rights Reserved.