Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From IP Australia:
Searching for Patents
To find patents search by number, keyword, personal or organisation name, or by classification (see "More about patents and searching" below). Older patents can often be downloaded freely, but current patents need to be purchased. Useful sources are:
Europe's network of patent databases provides access to full text patents from Great Britain, Europe, and the World Intellectual Property Organisation. Access to the patent title and abstract from worldwide sources is also available.
Access to US and European patents and patent applications.
Google Patent Search
Searches US patents. Does not include very recent patents or patent applications published before a U.S. patent is or is not awarded. Google can search even early patents by keyword whereas USPTO cannot search pre-1976 patents by keyword.
Access to Australian patent information.
The new search system for Australian patent data
Japan Patent Office
Provides English abstracts plus drawings of Japanese patents and patent applications.
Searchable full-text database of more than 8 million patents and patent applications from World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), European Patent Office (EPO), and IPAustralia.
USPTO: United States Patent and Trademark Office
Provides full text access to United States patents from 1790 onwards. Published patent applications are available from 2001.
WIPO: World Intellectual Property Organisation
Manages intellectual property issues including the filing and processing of international patent applications. Provides access to a searchable database of patent case studies and statistics.
Search international and national patent collections.
Journal Databases which Index Patents
Select the 'Patent Law' tab. Note: You may need to add the tab. Just click on Add/Edit Tabs and select Patent Law.
For chemistry, biochemistry, pharmacy, pharmacology, chemical engineering and agricultural chemistry. To limit your search to patents, click Filters, then select Patent under Document type.
As well as indexing journals, conference proceedings & trade publications, Scopus also indexes around 23 million patent records from 5 patent offices.
Web of Science
For a cited reference search. This allows you to find journal articles which have cited a particular patent. Enter the patent number in the Cited Work field or the first listed inventor or patent assignee in the Cited Author field.
More about Patents and Searching
We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA) 4.0 International License. Content from this Guide should be attributed to James Cook University Library. This does not apply to images, third party material (seek permission from the original owner) or any logos or insignia belonging to JCU or other bodies, which remain All Rights Reserved.