Skip to main content
Search for books
Health statistics can be found in a number of locations. The following call numbers may be useful:
362 - 362.4
- Social welfare and problems
- General statistics for health
614 - 614.6
- Incidence and prevention of disease
Try a search in Tropicat, our library catalogue for books about health and statistics. You can then sort the results by date, location etc.
Selected health statistics by subject
Hover cursor over each link for the data source.
Latest AIHW publication releases
Quick Australian statisitics by subject
From the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare.
World Health Organization (WHO)
World Health Organization (WHO)
The World Health Organization (WHO) is the leading authority on health information/matters and health research within the United Nations system. The WHO webpage provides access to information, research and statistics on global health issues and topics.
WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS)
National statistics for 70 core indicators on mortality, morbidity, risk factors, service coverage, and health systems
WHO Global InfoBase Online
Data on chronic diseases and their risk factors for all WHO Member States
Global Health Atlas
Standardized data and statistics for infectious diseases at country, regional, and global levels
Statistical information from WHO Regional Offices
World Health Report
Each year the report combines an expert assessment of global health, including statistics relating to all countries, with a focus on a specific subject. The main purpose of the report is to provide countries, donor agencies, international organizations and others with the information they need to help them make policy and funding decisions.
WHO projects, initiatives, activities, information products, and contacts, organized by health and development topics.
International Travel & Health
Provides information on health risks for travellers
International Health Regulations
Global rules to enhance national, regional and global public health security
International Classification of Diseases (ICD)
The international standard diagnostic classification for all general epidemiological, many health management purposes and clinical use.
International Pharmacopoeia (Ph.Int.)
a collection of quality specifications for pharmaceutical substances and dosage forms together with supporting general methods of analysis, that is intended to serve as source material for reference or adaptation by any WHO Member State wishing to establish pharmaceutical requirements.
Other international sites
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Baed in Atlanta in the USA, the CDC is a leading health organisation that collects a wide range of US and world-wide statistics.
Contains UNICEF’s statistical information, including data used in The State of the World’s Children and Progress for Children. Also here are technical resources for conducting UNICEF-supported Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys (MICS), which are a major source of global development data
UNAIDS - Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS
UNAIDS/WHO estimates are based on all available data, including surveys of pregnant women, population-based surveys, and other surveillance information. UNAIDS views such information as complementary and useful in helping to estimate the number of people living with HIV in a country
The State of the World's Children 2009
UNICEF report that examines critical issues in maternal and newborn health, underscoring the need to establish a comprehensive continuum of care for mothers, newborns and children
POPLINE: POPulation information onLINE
The world's largest database on reproductive health, containing citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues
Provides emergency and ongoing support to children around the world, including tracking and reporting on health trends.
UNICEF State of the World's Children Reports 1996-current
Each year, UNICEF’s flagship publication, The State of the World's Children, closely examines a key issue affecting children. The report includes supporting data and statistics and is available in French and Spanish language versions
We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.