Library Guides: Occupational Therapy Guide: Getting Started

Library services

Your Librarians

Benton Lewis
Liaison Librarian
Stephen Anderson
Senior Liaison Librarian

FindIt@JCU explained

The ‘Find It’ icon (or ‘Find It @ JCU Library’ link) is available in many databases. It will provide a link to the full text of a citation or reference where we have a subscription. Click on it when it appears next to the article you want. If the full text is not available digitally it will give you options for locating the item in the print collection or from other sources.

Hints and tips

Found a reference or citation but can't find the full text?

Do a journal title search in the Library catalogue to see if we have a paper subscription. If the paper copy is on another campus, complete a journal article request form and the article will be emailed to you. (This service is only available to students in Australia).
Try One Search or Google with the title in "inverted commas" to force a phrase search - you might get lucky and find the full text online.

InfoSkills Toolkit

The InfoSkills Toolkit is a self-paced training tool to help you understand what is needed to unpack your assignment question, work out the keywords for your research, find good quality sources and reference them appropriately.

There are four modules, and you can work through them in order, or jump straight to the part you need. Come back to the guide whenever you need a refresher on basic searching skills.

Please see below for video tutorials on how to search Medline, CINAHL, Scopus and Informit, as well as a video lecture on the Basics of Searching.

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
Available to James Cook University users only.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The authoritative abstract and index service (A&I) for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. It includes full-text journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, research instruments and clinical trials.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Emcare on Ovid This link opens in a new window
Emcare on Ovid covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
Available to James Cook University users only.
OTseeker This link opens in a new window
OTseeker is a free database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.
PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides citation indexes spanning every discipline.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to help people make well-informed decisions about healthcare and health policy, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.
Available to James Cook University users only.

Anatomy.tv This link opens in a new window
Medically accurate and detailed 3D rendering of human anatomy based on imaging data. Includes anatomy, physiology, clinical content and therapies.
Available to James Cook University users only.
AusDI : Australian drug information for the health care professional This link opens in a new window
AusDI delivers rapid access to Australia's most comprehensive and up-to-date database of independent drug monographs, pharmaceutical company product information (PI), consumer medicine information (CMI) documents, product summaries, drug product images and Interactions and Safety monographs.
Available to James Cook University users only.
AMH Australian Medicines Handbook This link opens in a new window
AMH provides a concise, up-to-date source of independent drug information to facilitate effective, rational, safe and economical prescribing and dispensing.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Limited to 3 concurrent users.
Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Indexing service covering references to the primary literature in life sciences and biomedical research. James Cook University has access to information from the period 1926-2015. Includes coverage of Biological Abstracts.
Available to James Cook University users only.
eTG complete This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed clinical therapeutic guidelines covering a range of topics. Includes drug information, patient information and calculators.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Gale: Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources and covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Also included are thousands of podcasts and videos.
Includes Expanded Academic ASAP and Health Reference Center plus other databases.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Medline (Pubmed) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine journal citation database providing over 22 million references to biomedical and life sciences journal articles dating back to 1946. It is a subset of the PubMed database which is freely available.
MIMS Online This link opens in a new window
MIMS is a leading supplier of trusted, quality, independent medicine information to Australian healthcare professionals. Limited to 1 concurrent user.
Available to James Cook University users only.
ProQuest platform This link opens in a new window
This is the starting point to access the multidisciplinary resources available on ProQuest, including journals, ebooks, newspapers and A&I services.
Available to James Cook University users only.
PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES offers full text articles from the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline features DSM-5™ and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references which also includes access to journals, textbooks, self-assessment tools, clinical & research news from Psychiatric News, and medication information handouts for patients.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides citation indexes spanning every discipline.
Available to James Cook University users only.

Clinical Care

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool providing fast, easy access to the latest evidence-based medical information.
Formerly Dynamed Plus.
Available to James Cook University users only.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Clinical search engine that supports physicians and nurses in clinical decision making. Resources available include journals, ebooks, drug monographs, guidelines, multimedia, patient education and procedures consult.
Available to James Cook University users only.
eTG complete This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed clinical therapeutic guidelines covering a range of topics. Includes drug information, patient information and calculators.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to DSM-5™ and The American Journal of Psychiatry as well as journals, textbooks, self-assessment tools, clinical & research news from Psychiatric News, and medication information handouts for patients.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Anatomy.tv This link opens in a new window
Medically accurate and detailed 3D rendering of human anatomy based on imaging data. Includes anatomy, physiology, clinical content and therapies.
Available to James Cook University users only.
AusDI : Australian drug information for the health care professional This link opens in a new window
A database of independent drug monographs, pharmaceutical company product information (PI), consumer medicine information (CMI) documents, product summaries, drug product images and Interactions and Safety monographs.
Available to James Cook University users only.