Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JCU logo

Using One Search

Using the library's search tool, One Search, to find journal articles, books, book chapters and much, much more.

Search everything

Searching for keywords

Type your search terms into the search box, set your search options, then click on the magnifying glass to run your search.

By default, you will search everything the library has access to for all items that contain your query words anywhere in the record. If you use a well structured search (see our Search Tips page) and the "Tweak your results" options, this is the best setting to use for most of your research needs.

Image of the search box in One Search, showing Advanced Search to the side, and drop down menus "All Items", "That contain my query words" and "anywhere in the record" below the box

 

Other search options

You can drop down All Items to search only for journal articles, books, videos or other specific types of materials.

You can drop down that contain my query words to select with my exact phrase (useful if you are looking for only one specific combination of words) or begins with (useful for finding titles that begin with a specific word or phrase)

You can drop down anywhere in the record (which looks in all fields) to search specifically in the title, author, subject, etc. fields. This is a place to search specifically for items in the North Queensland collection, by selecting "in North Queensland keywords".

You can set your preferred disciplines to focus on specific fields of study (such as "Business & Economics" or "Nursing", etc.). Either use the personalise the results box on the start page of a new search, or click on the option to personalise at the top of your results list.

Tweak your results

You can tweak your results to find greater or fewer results by using the options (filters) on the left side of the screen.

 You can select multiple options to tailor the search to your needs. When you mouse over the option, you will see a check box to the left and a crossed-out box to the right. Tick the checkbox on the left of the option to specify that you only want results that match those options. Use the crossed-out box to the right of the option to say you specifically want to exclude this option.

You can select multiple filters at the same time.

Use Refine to specify online only ("available online"), peer-reviewed, open access or physical items ("held by library").

Use Content Type to narrow to a specific format (e.g. books, journal articles, book chapters, reports, videos...)

Use Subject to narrow your results to items with certain subject headings.

Date lets you choose the date range to search (for example, if you only want articles from the past five years).

Library limits to results physically located in one of our library branches or resource centres (Townsville, Cairns, Singapore, etc.).

Collection limits to results from specific collections within the Library (e.g. Curriculum Collection, North Queensland Collection, Microform).

Other options to tweak your results will appear depending on the results of your search.

Once you have chosen your filters, you will see your active filters at the top of the filter list:

Screen shot of active filters, showing options with an x next to them

You can deselect individual filters by clicking on the "x" next to them, or you can turn off all of the filters by clicking on reset filters.

Clicking on remember filters will keep those filters for any new search conducted during the session. That means you can type in a new set of keywords and the filters you have already chosen will still apply. These filters will clear if you click on reset filters, or if you start a fresh search using New Search at the top of the screen

Expand your results

At the top of the Filters list you will see a checkbox saying "add resutls beyong the library's collection'.

This option will search through other collections and libraries around the world, to show you results that the library does not hold or subscribe to in addition to what we hold.

Screenshot showing check box with "add results beyond the library's collection"

If the results beyond our collection are open access or freely available, you may be able to access them immediately. If they need to be purchased or sourced from another library, you can request them. You will need to sign in to see the options for requesting the item.

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country