Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JCU logo

Rapid Reviews

Manage results in databases

Databases have many functions that will help organise and manage searches to keep track of new literature.

  • Accounts
    Create a personal account in databases to use the advanced functions below. This is separate to your JCU login.
  • Save searches 
    Save searches that give relevant results to your database account to record the search strategy and be able to retrieve them later.
  • Alerts
    Create alerts from searches to be notified of new results added to the database.

Bibliographic referencing software

Use bibliographic referencing software to:

  • download and store reference information as well as PDF documents.
  • annotate records to store personal notes about each reference. Create a personalised and searchable database of references for the research project.
  • create bibliographies and add citations within documents.

EndNote is one type of bibliographic reference software. The university has a site license so all staff and students can download a copy of the software to their computers while studying at JCU. The library offers support for Endnote including an online guide and online and in person training sessions.

Using Endnote to manage PRISMA flowcharts

Endnote can be used to manage your references and PRISMA flow chart for your review.

In these instructions you will learn how to:

  • Use group sets and groups
  • Add labels to records in bulk
  • Sort records using labels

You can choose to watch the video below or follow written instructions. The Word document contains written instructions and short GIF clips. The PDF document contains written instructions and simple pictures.

Note: The examples used in these documents are for health searches, however the procedure is the same for all disciplines.

Endnote and PRISMA Video

More guides on using EndNote for systematic reviews

Bronwen Forster, Liaison Librarian Cairns, EndNote: making the best use of EndNote for your systematic review, JCU Systematic Review Masterclass 2017

* Available to JCU staff and students only

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country