Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JCU logo

Using One Search

Using the library's search tool, One Search, to find journal articles, books, book chapters and much, much more.

Previewing and retrieving your results

Click on an item in the list of results to see the record.

In the Details section of the record, you will be able to see the subject headings and description, which will help you evaluate the item and decide if you want to get it.

The subject listings will both help you determine if this item is covering the right subjects, but also allow you to search for other items with the same subject headings.

The description contains the abstract or description/blurb, and will give you an overview of what the article or book is about. The record for books may also contain the table of contents.

Get or view your results

View Online

If you wish to view the full text of an article, eBook or other electronic item, look for the View Online section of the record. Click on the name of the publisher/supplier to see the full text for that item.

If we have access to the journal through a number of suppliers, you may see several options for viewing that journal. Check the information listed with the journal holdings to make sure it contains the article you are looking for (we may have one year range with one publisher and the most recent articles with another publisher).

Screenshot showing several database options under the View Online heading, with different holdings

Get It

If you wish to find a physcial item we have in our collection, go to the Get it section of the record. If the item is available for loan, you see that it is available, and the call number and collection where the item can be found.

Screenshiot of Get It section of the record, showing that the book is in Townsville and show the details: Available, General Collection 636.6865 MAN

If the item is not available (because it has been checked out or is on hold), you will see that it is Out of the library, and you will need to be signed in to see the options to place a hold on the item.

Screenshot of Get It section of the record, showing that it's staus is Out of library. Directly under the words "Get It", you have options to request the book.

 

A Note About Loan Periods and Hold Requests:

JCU Library has autorenewals, and the standard loan period is 3 Weeks. This means if an item is checked out, it may remain checked out to that patron until either they chose to return it, or it is requested by another patron. When a request is placed, the person who currently has the book checked out has until the end of that 3 Week period to return it. If you see that an item you want is checked out, submit a request for it (see below).

You need to keep an eye on your messages from the Library, as you will be notified by email if an item you currently have out has been requested by another patron. If it is recalled, you must return it by the due date or incur a fine.

If there are several requests for the same item, it will be moved to a "high use" status, with a loan period of 3 days. This is to allow several people to access that item in a shorter period of time. Please keep note of your due dates, and be prepared to the return the item on or before the due date to avoid a fine.

Requesting items

You must be logged in to place a hold or request an item.

Placing a Hold/Request

On Campus Students

You can request a physical item by clicking on Request, next to the location details. When the item is available for collection, you will recieve an email stating it can be picked up from the holds shelf.

Placing a request will transfer the book between Townsville and Cairns, or place a hold on it if it has been checked out. Please note this service is only available for a Townsville or Cairns pick-up of items in those two branches. If you are located at one of JCU's other Australian Campuses, you will need to make an Off-Campus Request.

N.B. Books located in Singapore are only available to Singapore students, and students at the Singapore campus cannot request physical items from the Australian campuses.

 

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country