Library Guides: Pharmacy Guide: Getting Started

Library services

Your librarians

Stephen Anderson
Senior Liaison Librarian
Gabriella Rogina
Liaison Librarian

Use these databases to search for scholarly journal articles and drug information

There are some really good databases available for finding information in Pharmacy. We would recommend getting started with the following (make sure you check out the Key Resources for a larger range):

Please see below for video tutorials on how to search Medline, CINAHL, Scopus and Informit, as well as a video lecture on the Basics of Searching.

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
Available to James Cook University users only.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The authoritative abstract and index service (A&I) for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. It includes full-text journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, research instruments and clinical trials.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Emcare on Ovid This link opens in a new window
Emcare on Ovid covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Available to James Cook University users only.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides citation indexes spanning every discipline.
Available to James Cook University users only.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey can support healthcare professionals and students with the latest evidence across specialties in a variety of formats, including full-text reference books and journals, synoptic content, drug information, videos, practice guidelines, customized patient education handouts, clinical calculators and more.

All users will be required to register for a personal account in order to download full-text book chapter PDFs; use the Presentation Maker; access Search History, Saved Searches and Saved Content; access ClinicalKey remotely and use the Mobile App.
Available to James Cook University users only.
AusDI : Australian drug information for the health care professional This link opens in a new window
AusDI delivers rapid access to Australia's most comprehensive and up-to-date database of independent drug monographs, pharmaceutical company product information (PI), consumer medicine information (CMI) documents, product summaries, drug product images and Interactions and Safety monographs.
Available to James Cook University users only.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool providing fast, easy access to the latest evidence-based medical information.
Formerly Dynamed Plus.
Available to James Cook University users only.

Pharmacy Guide: Getting Started

Library services

Your librarians

Use these databases to search for scholarly journal articles and drug information

Video Tutorials for Finding Articles