FAQs

Guides

Classes

Opening Hours

InfoSkills Toolkit

The InfoSkills Toolkit is a self-paced training tool to help you understand what is needed to unpack your assignment question, work out the keywords for your research, find good quality sources and reference them appropriately.

There are four modules, and you can work through them in order, or jump straight to the part you need. Come back to the guide whenever you need a refresher on basic searching skills.

This page provides general information about library services for your studies. Click on the discipline tabs to access specialised discipline content.

If your subject is part of the Commerce major, please go to the Commerce library guide.

Do:

• Click on the discipline tabs to find the recommended resources.
• Learn how to use keywords to more effectively search the databases.
• Explore the InfoSkills Toolkit to gain valuable skills in breaking down your topic; developing keywords and search strategies; and evaluating what you have found.
• Use your library subscribed resources for assignments - which will help you find academic/scholarly/peer-reviewed sources which if used correctly will get you better marks. Find the recommended databases on your discipline tab.
• Follow the APA 7 library guide for all things referencing
• Remember to acknowledge all sources of information, ideas, graphics and images that are not your own.
• Contact the library for assistance before frustration kicks in. Via Chat, email or phone.

Don't:

• Type your question into Google and call it a day (you need to go beyond what Google will show you)
• Wait till the last minute to do your assignment
• Forget to acknowledge all your sources of information

One Search quick search

One Search is our library search tool. It searches through the majority of our holdings, both print and online.

Find articles, books, book chapters and more. Start your research here:

Databases can cover a variety of different types of information, such as journal articles, newspapers, reference works (e.g. specialist dictionaries and encyclopedias) and market research reports – just to name a few. Some databases are more generalist, while others deal with very specific subject areas. You can search for databases suitable for your area, or go to the lists of recommended databases we have for each subject.

Here are some of the top databases that are useful for most Business students:

Reference sources

A great place to start if you want to understand your topic better. Credo is a factual source, a bit like wikipedia - but can be cited in your assessment.

Grey Literature is the term we use for material that isn't formally published (like books, journals or newspapers), but is still a valuable source of information for your field – such as company reports, government documents, letters, theses, pamphlets and the like.

For a lot of business research, journal articles and books will only be a part of what you find, and you will need to use various types of grey literature for your assignment.

See our Finding Grey Literature Guide for more in-depth look at sources of grey literature, and watch the videos below.