The National Archives of Australia holds many records relevant to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and their histories.

The main groups of records include Aboriginal Affairs, administration of the Norther Territory, and other functions of the Australian Government. These records contain information about people, places, events, social welfare activities, missions, children's institutions, reserves, stations and settlements.

RecordSearch is the National Archives' collection database. It is the quickest and most efficient way of finding out what is held in the collection, and of locating the records you want. RecordSearch is available in all National Archives research centres and on this website. 

For an overview of RecordSearch

NAA has created a step by step guide on finding recordings relating to First Australians that can be accessed via the link below.

National Archives Queensland Office
16 Corporate Drive
Cannon Hill Qld 4170

Research Centre Hours
Wed-Fri: 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat-Tues: Closed

Phone: 07 3249 4200

The Bringing Them Home Name Index was created to help First Australians use these files to find information about themselves, their Country and their history.

The index is a searchable list of names and places which we created from our files about First Australians. It contains the names of: Aboriginal and Torres Strait peoples, non-Indigenous people related to or associated with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, missions, stations, settlements and institutions where Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples have lived.

The Index itself only contains names - not extra information. You will need to see the files to find further details about people and places.

National Archives staff will search the index on your behalf. If they find the names you are looking for, you can ask copies of records that mention the name or view the records in the research centre where they are held. 

The more information you provide, the easier it is for archives staff to find records. Helpful information include:

• the name of the person – including nicknames, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples' names and any different spellings
• their date of birth and death or the age at which something important happened
• family connections – the names of their sisters, brothers or other relatives
• their language group, Country or homeland
• the place where they were born, lived, worked or were sent to
• the years when the person lived, worked or was sent to a place
• any other details you would like to mention.

If you would like National Archives staff to search the Bringing Them Home name index for you or need help finding information about your family, please complete an enquiry form.

All information on this page has been sourced from the National Archives of Australia website.