Library Guides
Library Guides
The Chicago Manual of Style released the 18th Edition of the style in September, 2024. Your lecturer may still be using the 17th Edition of the style. Check with your lecturer which version of the style you should be using.
If you are using the 17th Edition of Chicago, use the links on this page.
If you should be using the 18th Edition of Chicago, use the links on the 18th Edition page.
The Chicago Manual of Style by
Part 1: The publishing process. Books and journals -- Manuscript preparation, manuscript editing, and proofreading -- Illustrations and tables -- Rights, permissions, and copyright administration / by William S. Strong -- Part 2: Style and usage. Grammar and usage / by Bryan A. Garner -- Punctuation -- Spelling, distinctive treatment of words, and compounds -- Names, terms, and titles of terms -- Numbers -- Abbreviations -- Lanugages other than English -- Mathematics in type -- Quotations and dialogue -- Part 3: Source citations and indexes. Notes and bibliography -- Author-date references -- Indexes.
Please note, the link to the electronic copy of this book may take you to the 16th Edition. You can get to the 17th Edition from the 16th, so check which edition you have been taken to and go to the 17th if necessary.
"Chicago Style" covers two different styles, a Notes and Bibliography style (sometimes called Chicago A) and an Author-Date style (sometimes called Chicago B) check with your lecturer to confirm which style you should be using.
For this style, you put a superscript number in text at the point where you insert the citation. This corresponds to a footnote on the same page, which contains the Footnote citation for the source (subsequent citations for the same source will use a shortened version of this citation.
There is also a Bibliography at the end of the paper which contains all of the sources in alphabetical order. You can access the full version of the Chicago Manual of Style from the Library using your JCU username and password
A full explanation of the Notes and Bibliography style can be found in Chapter 14 of the Chicago Manual of Style.
You can see a freely accessible "quick guide" to Chicago Notes here:
In the Author-Date version of Chicago, you put the authors' surnames and the year of publication in brackets at the point in your sentence where you need to cite your sources.
There is a Reference list which contains all of the works cited in alphabetical order.
A full explanation of the Author-Date version of Chicago can be found in Chapter 15 of the Chicago manual of Style.
You can see a freely accessible "quick guide" to Chicago Author-Date here:
We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA) 4.0 International License. Content from this Guide should be attributed to James Cook University Library. This does not apply to images, third party material (seek permission from the original owner) or any logos or insignia belonging to JCU or other bodies, which remain All Rights Reserved.