The JCU Library holds a collection of books related to pharmacy which can be borrowed for two weeks (normal loan). Essential texts may be restricted to a short term (two-day) loan. It is assumed that you will learn how to use the library as soon as possible.
Essential book chapters and journal articles may be available electronically through Reserve Online. This can be accessed through the Library and Computing web page under ‘Reserve Online (Readings and past exam papers)’, and often lecturers will make links directly to these readings from the subject’s LearnJCU site.
The Pharmacy Libguide contains links to an abundance of databases, websites, journals and other resources that will be extremely useful to you during your studies (and indeed your professional career!).
Searching databases is the fastest and easiest way to find relevant journal articles. Providing evidence-based healthcare is a major focus of this course, and to do this it is imperative that you can source relevant, reliable articles that clearly describe the findings of robust research. You will be introduced to how to do database searches in PC1004.
The ‘Information Literacy’ module provides a clear introduction on using library resources and guidance on how best to access them. It is very important that you learn how to access and use the library resources effectively. Without these skills it will be hard to prepare properly for practicals or research for assignments!
"This is something I would have started in first year if I had my time again. Now that I’ve finished uni, I have started a folder and have had to go back through my old notes to find handouts that I thought I’d never want to look at again but will be useful for my intern year!"
- Allison Jackson
"I think as a professional, it is always useful to have a set of books relating to your profession because you will use these books as reference long after uni has finished. For me there are a few books which I would like to keep for reference purposes and I find myself using them even today."
- Alykhan Halari
Textbooks for the different subjects have been set with the aim of ensuring that you have built up a useful and comprehensive professional library by
the time you graduate. In addition, other books are recommended which will also add value to your professional library.
The JCU Pharmacy Students’ Association places bulk orders for pharmacy textbooks at the beginning of each academic year. By ordering textbooks in this way, JCUPSA is able to secure a discounted price for students. Please note that these textbooks cannot be ordered through the JCU Bookshop. Students will receive an email advising the details of when the orders will be placed.
Textbooks for other subjects can be purchased through the JCU Bookshop.
The textbook I used most in first year was Marieb’s anatomy textbook, particularly for pracs and prac reports. Any edition will do, if you can get a second hand one for cheaper – definitely do it! You will use it in Semester 1 and 2 and later on in your degree as you learn about each body system so it really was worth it. If chemistry isn’t a strength, a chemistry textbook with practice questions and a solutions manual can be really useful. I found the lecture notes and the lecturers were mostly sufficient for other subjects if you attended the lectures, practicals and workshops whereas textbooks are more useful if you are struggling with a certain concept. You can always borrow textbooks from the library for free and photocopy the pages you need so if you don’t buy the textbooks, it’s not the end of the world. I would recommend buying the Australian Medicines Handbook and the APF as you will use these a lot during your degree and in practice.
- Allison Jackson
Wait till you have a couple of lectures before purchasing textbooks because a lot of the lecture notes, tutorials and workshops are what are used in the exams. However, you should purchase Marieb (if that’s still recommended text for anatomy and physiology) the AMH, and the APF every year.
- Matt Gibbs
Discuss this with the year above yours. There are some text books which are critical to your study (for example Marieb, AMH, APF), while others are not used a lot during the class and could be borrowed from a friend or the library. Many text books are for sale on bill boards around campus, or the facebook page for pharmacy.
- Renee Scott
I like to buy all my own text books and keep them. I also used a lot of internet as well E.g. TGs online and AMH online which are easier to look things up and print and highlight.
- Jayne de Luca
Throughout the course you will be building a collection of information and resources that you will refer back to both in your later studies and in your professional career. As you go on, you will be expected to make use of knowledge and skills developed in previous subjects, and of course you will be expected to apply the knowledge and skill you have acquired when you start practising as a pharmacist.
It follows that you will want to refer back to the textbooks, lecture notes and other resources that you collected from previous semesters. Therefore you are advised to keep ALL subject notes and text books for later use in the course and in your early professional career.
 |
 |
|
We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA) 4.0 International License, unless otherwise noted. Content from this Guide should be attributed to James Cook University Library. This does not apply to images, third party material (seek permission from the original owner) or any logos or insignia belonging to JCU or other bodies, which remain All Rights Reserved.
