Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA (7th Edition) Referencing Guide

Guide to APA citation style using the 7th Edition of the APA Style Manual.

Dictionary and encyclopedia entries

A dictionary or encyclopedia entry is treated in much the same way as a chapter of an edited book, only you do not include page numbers. If the entry has an author, then attribute the entry as per normal. If it does not have an attributed author, the publisher jumps into the first position, and is referenced in text instead of an author's name.  

See When the Author Isn't a Person.

Format

Online stable or archived version:

Author A. A. (Date). Title of entry. In E. E. Editor (Ed.), Name of dictionary/encyclopedia. URL.

Online continuously updates (no archived version)

Author A. A. (n.d.). Title of entry. In E. E. Editor (Ed.), Name of dictionary/encyclopedia (edition, if not the first). Publisher. URL.

In print:

Author A. A. (Date). Dictionary/Encyclopedia entry. In A. Editor & B. Editor (Eds.), Name of dictionary/encyclopedia (edition, if not the first). Publisher.

No entry author:

When there is no named author for the entry, treat the dictionary/encyclopedia as an edited book and move the editors to the author position:

Editor, A., & Editor, B. (Eds.). (Date). Dictionary/Encyclopedia entry. In Name of dictionary/encyclopedia (edition, if not the first). Publisher.

If there are no named authors or editors, treat the company responsible for the dictionary/encyclopedia (e.g. Merriam-Webster, Macquarie University, Oxford University Press) as a corporate author:

Corporate Author. (Date). Dictionary/Encyclopedia entry. In Name of dictionary/encyclopedia (edition, if not the first). Publisher.

Examples

Butler, S. (Ed.). (2017). Zombie. In Macquarie dictionary (7th ed.). https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/macqdict/zombie

Güzeldere, G. (2005). Zombies. In L. Nadel (Ed.), Encyclopedia of cognitive science. Wiley. https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/wileycs/zombies

Hughes, J. M., Michell P. A., & Ransom, W. S. (Eds.). (1992). Zucchini. In The Australian concise Oxford dictionary (2nd ed.). Oxford University Press.

Oxford University Press. (n.d.). Zombie. In Oxford English Dictionary. Retrieved January 4, 2020, from https://oed.com/view/Entry/232982

In Text

Zombies are noted to be indistinguishable from humans, apart from certain mental features (Güzeldere, 2005).

The Macquarie Dictionary defines a zombie as a corpse "supposedly brought to life" by supernatural forces (Butler, 2017).

Zucchinis are a variety of marrow, also known as a corgette (Hughes et al., 1992).

A zombie is a rum-based cocktail with fruit juice and liqueur (Oxford University Press, n.d.)

Notes:

  • If you are using an online dictionary which does not have dates for the individual entries, and only a copyright date that is consantly updated, use (n.d.) as your date and include a retrieved date before the URL.

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country

Creative Commons Licence
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA) 4.0 International License. Content from this Guide should be attributed to James Cook University Library. This does not apply to images, third party material (seek permission from the original owner) or any logos or insignia belonging to JCU or other bodies, which remain All Rights Reserved.

.