Skip to main content

APA (7th Edition) Referencing Guide

Guide to APA citation style using the 7th Edition of the APA Style Manual. This guide is in Beta mode, and some links and pages will become available shortly.

Check With Your Lecturer

This is a guide to the 7th Edition of APA style, which is a recent update to the APA citation style.

Your lecturer may prefer APA 6th Edition. Check your subject outline to see which version of APA you have been asked to use. If the subject outline does not specify which APA edition you should be using, please check with your lecturer.

If you are supposed to use APA 6th Edition, please go to the APA (6th Edition) Referencing Guide:

Note on medical databases and clinical tools

Many of the tools used for health and diagnostic purposes require retrieval dates. Include a retrieval date only if the work is unarchived and designed to change over time. Go to the section on dates to see how to format a Retrieved date.

AusDI by MedicalDirector

Format

Author. (Date). Title of entry. In Title of work. Retrieved date, from http://www.xxxxx

Examples

MedicalDirector. (n.d.). Biaxsig. In AusDI. Retrieved December 23, 2019, from https://ausdi-hcn-com-au.elibrary.jcu.edu.au/productSummary.hcn?id=534.SimplePS

In text

Biaxsig is generally well tolerated (MedicalDirector, n.d.).
or MedicalDirector (n.d.) describes Biaxsig...

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare

Format

Author. (Date). Title of report (Report No. xxxx). Publisher Name. http://www.xxxx

Examples

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. (2018, June 20). Australia's health 2018 (Report No. 16, Aus 221). Australian Government. https://www.aihw.gov.au/getmedia/7c42913d-295f-4bc9-9c24-4e44eff4a04a/aihw-aus-221.pdf.aspx?inline=true

In text

First use:

(Australian Institute of Health and Welfare [AIHW], 2018)

The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare ([AIHW], 2018) has found that ....

Subsequent use:

(AIHW, 2018)

AIHW (2018) has found that ....

Please Note:

Not all documents downloaded from the ABS or the AIHW will have catalogue numbers. Only include the number if it is applicable. If you aren't sure if your document has a catalogue number, contact InfoHelp for advice.

If the publisher's name is the same as the author, omit the publisher's name.

List parent bodies that are listed as authors in the Publisher name field.

 

Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH)

Format

Author. (Date). Title of entry. In Title of work. Retrieved date, from http://www.xxxxx

Examples

Australian Medicines Handbook. (2019, July). Insulins. In Australian medicines handbook. Retrieved December 23, 2019, from https://amhonline.amh.net.au/chapters/endocrine-drugs/drugs-diabetes/other-drugs-diabetes/insulins

In text

First use:

Insulins restore ability to metabolise glucose (Australian Medicines Handbook [AMH], 2019).
or Australian Medicines Handbook ([AMH] 2019) suggests....

Subsequent use:

(AMH, 2019)

AMH (2019) noted...

ClinicalKey (clinical overview or patient education)

Format Author. (Date). Title of entry. ClinicalKey. Retrieved date, from http://www.xxxxx
Examples

ClinicalKey (2017, October 29). Thiamine deficiency. ClinicalKey. Retrieved December 23, 2019, from https://www.clinicalkey.com.au/

In text

ClinicalKey (2017) describes thiamine deficiency as ...
or (ClinicalKey, 2017).

 NOTE: This is the format for referencing a clinical overview or patient education. Books, Book chapters & Journal articles from ClinicalKey will follow the format appropriate for the resources used.

Cochrane Review

Format

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date). Title of article. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. URL

Examples

Gopalakrishnan, P. N., Goel, N., & Banerjee, S. (2017). Saline irrigation for the management of skin extravasation injury in neonates. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD008404.pub3

O'Kelly, S. M., & Moore, Z. E. (2017). Antenatal maternal education for improving postnatal perineal healing for women who have birthed in a hospital setting. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD012258.pub2

Codes of conduct

Format

Author, A. A. (Date). Title of document. URL

Examples

Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia. (2018, October 1). Code of conduct for nurses. https://www.nursingmidwiferyboard.gov.au/Codes-Guidelines-Statements/Professional-standards.aspx

In text

First use:

(Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia [NMBA], 2018).

The Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia ([NMBA], 2018) states that ....

Subsequent use:

(NMBA, 2018)

NMBA (2018) has found that ....

DynaMed

Format

Author. (Date). Title of entry. Dymamed. Retrieved date, from http://www.xxxxx

Examples

Dynamed. (n.d.). Acetaminophen. DynaMed. Retrieved December 23, 2019, from https://www.dynamed.com/topics/dmp~AN~T233023/Acetaminophen

In text

nonprescription drug, generally safe when used in therapeutic dosese (Dynamed, 2019).
or Dynamed (2019) describes Acetaminophen ...

Electronic Therapeutic Guidelines Complete (eTG complete)

Format

Author. (Date). Title of entry. In Title of work. Retrieved date, from http://www.xxxxx

Examples

Therapeutic Guidelines. (2019, June). Hypothyroidism. In Electronic therapeutic guidelines complete. Retrieved December 23 , 2019, from https://tgldcdp.tg.org.au/etgcomplete

In text

Therapeutic Guidelines (2017) suggests treatment for hypothyroidism...
or (Therapeutic Gudelines, 2017).

JBI

Pattern for JBI systematic review:

Format

Author, A. A. (Date). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue), page numbers of the whole article. https://doi.org/xx.xxx/xxxx

OR (if no doi from a database)

Author, A. A. (year). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue), page numbers of the whole article.

Examples

Pather, P., Hines, S., Kynoch, K., & Coyer, F. (2017). Effectiveness of topical skin products in the treatment and prevention of incontinence-associated dermatitis: A systematic review. JBI Database of Systematic Reviews & Implementation Reports, 15(5), 1473-1496. https://doi.org/10.11124/JBISRIR-2016-003015

Queiros, P., Santos, E., Apostolo, J., Cardoso, D., Cunha, M., & Rodrigues, M. (2014). The effectiveness of cleansing solutions for wound treatment: A systematic review. JBI Database of Systematic Reviews & Implementation Reports, 12(10), 121-151. https://doi.org/10.11124/jbisrir-2014-1746

In text

 

First use:

Pather,et al. (2017) noted that... 
or (Pather, et al., 2017)

Querios et al. (2014) noted that...
or (Querios et al., 2014)

Subsequent use:

Pather et al. (2017) noted that...
or (Pather et al., 2017)

Querios et al. (2014) noted that...
or (Querios et al., 2014)

JBI Evidence Summary

Format

Author, A. A. (Date). Title of document: Subtitle of document [Evidence Summary]. https://joannabriggs.org

Examples

Wound Healing Management Node Group, & Slade, S. (2017). Wound management: Hydrogen peroxide [Evidence Summary]. https://joannabriggs.org

In text

 

First use:

The Wound Healing Management Node Group (WHAM) and Slade (2017) noted that...
or (Wound Healing Management Node Group [WHAM] & Slade, 2017)

Subsequent use:

WHAM and Slade (2017) noted that...
or (WHAM & Slade, 2017)

JBI Recommended Practice

Format

Author, A. A. (Date). Title of document: Subtitle of document [Evidence Based Recommended Practice]. https://joannabriggs.org

Examples
Joanna Briggs Institute. (2016). Graft care after removal of primary dressing [Evidence Based Recommended Practice]. https://joannabriggs.org

 

In text

First use:

The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI, 2016) noted that...
or (Joanna Briggs Institute [JBI], 2016)

Subsequent use:

JBI (2016) noted that...
or (JBI, 2016)

JBI Best Practice

Format

Author, A. A. (Date). Title of article: Subtitle of article. Best Practice: Evidence Based Information Sheets for Health Professionals, volume(issue), page numbers of the whole article.

Examples
Joanna Briggs Institute. (2009). Nurse-led interventions to reduce cardiac risk factors in adults. Best Practice: Evidence Based Information Sheets for Health Professionals, 13(5):1-4.
 
In text See JBI example above.

Note:

  • If you did not retrieve the article using our database, but you found it through JBI's home page, use https://joannabriggs.org

 

MIMS Online

Format

Author. (Date). Title of entry. In Title of work. Retrieved date, from http://www.xxxxx

Examples

MIMS Australia. (n.d.) Panadol. In MIMS online. Retrieved December 23, 2019, from https://www.mimsonline.com.au

In text

Panadol is used for the relief of pain associated with headache (MIMS Australia, 2019).
or MIMS Australia (2019) describes Panadol as...

StatPearls

Format

Author, A. A. & Author B. B. (Date). Title of chapter. In A. Editor, B. Editor (Eds.). StatPearls. StatPearls Publishing. Retrieved Month Day, Year from http://www.xxxxx

Check the rule for number of Authors (this rule also applies to editors)

Include the date the information was retrieved as this information is continually updated

Examples

Bailey, I. B. & Shaw, P.M. (2020). Abdominal aorta repair. In B. Abai, A. Amal Abu-Ghosh, A. B. Acharya, U. Acharya, S. G. Adhia, R. Adigun, T. C. Aeby, N. R. Aeddula,  A. Agarwal, M. Agarwal, S. Aggarwal, R. Ahlawat, R. A. Ahmed, F. Akhtar, A. M. Al Aboud, Y. Al Khalili, E. Al Zaabi, G. Alexander, M. Saleh Alhajjaj, & … K. J. Allen (Eds). StatPearls. StatPearls Publishing. Retrieved April 22, 2019 from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK430752/

In text

Abdominal aorta repair can be complicated (Bailey & Shaw, 2020).
or Bailey & Shaw (2020) have described ...

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country