Skip to Main Content

JCU logoLibrary Guides

JCU Library Experience Procedures ALMA: Fulfilment

Mending

Changing an item to Mending

Purpose: 

  • To change the status and track the whereabouts of items needing mending

Alma Role required:

  • Circulation Desk Operator
  • Work Order Operator

Responsibility:

  • All Frontline Staff

To send Mending to Collection & Discovery, grab one of the Blue Mending Required slips

(there are some printed at the Returns Computer and on the shelf in the Collections & Discovery Area) 

Type of damage    

  • Ripped or loose pages
  • Torn or damaged cover
  • Damaged or old hard to read spine labels -->

 

  • Login to Alma
  • Go to Fulfilment →  Resource Requests →  Scan In Items

  • Place directly on hold shelf: select 'No'
  • Automatically print slip: 'No' 
  • Choose Mending in the Work Order Type field.
  • Choose Review for Mending in the Set Status To field so that the Collection & Discovery team can assess the item for replacement.

  • Click in the Scan item barcode field, scan the item’s barcode, and click OK.
  • Place the item on the shelf in the Collection & Discovery area with the BLUE slip in it
    • Put your name at the top of the slip
    • Tick all boxes that apply to the item needing mending 
      • If page need to be glue write down the extent of the pages needing to be glued
    • If it needs mending in another way please tick OTHER and write below

  • Once the item has been mended, login to Alma
  • Go to Fulfilment → Resource Requests →  Scan In Items

  • Essentially reverse the current Mending Work Order:
    • Place directly on hold shelf: select 'Yes' 
    • Automatically print slip: 'No'
    • Choose Mending in the Work Order Type field.
    • Choose Mending in the Set Status To field. 
    • Done: 'Yes'
  • Click in the Scan item barcode field, scan the item’s barcode, and click OK.

  • Place the item onto the re-shelving trolley, ready to go back into the physical collection.

NOTE

To check that the Work Order is active, searching for the item using the search bar at the top of the page. Choose Physical Items and Barcode

Scan or type in the item's barcode and hit Enter. You can now see that the item's Status has changed to ‘Item not in place’. 

Sending items to Collections & Discovery

Sending items to Collections & Discovery

Purpose: 

  • To send items to Collections & Discovery

Alma Role required:

  • Not Required

Responsibility:

  • All Frontline Staff
To send items to Collection & Discovery, grab one of the PINK Cataloguing Required slips
(there are some printed at the Returns Computer and on the shelf in the Collections & Discovery Area) 
  • Put your name on the top of the form (In case C&D need clarification about the item) 
  • Fill in the reason why you are sending the book to the C&D department
    • Quick Cataloguing (QC): When an item that has been added to the system with a brief record has been returned
    • Item not in system: 
      • Barcode not working: When the system advises that the item cannot be found
      • Needs to be Re-Catalogued: Items that have dropped off the system and need to be readded on to the system (note different from a QC) 
    • On hold for cataloguing: C&D need to have a look at the item but it was loaned out or wasn't on the shelf. 
    • Item transfer to: Leave this blank. This is just for C&D use. 
    • Incorrect Record: 
      • Call number is incorrect or doesn't make sense: When an item's call number doesn't match up to where it should be on the shelf
      • Doesn't link to the correct catalogue record: When you scan the item and a different book appears
    • Other:
      • No idea what is wrong with them item. Give details: This is when we have no idea what is wrong with the item. Give as many details as you can.
  • Place the item on the shelf in the C&D area. 

Please note: if you have an item that you are not sure what to do with, or doesn't match with one of the reasons on the form, please explain the situation in as much detail as possible on the bottom of the form. 

If you come across items that are damaged, have faulty spine labels or require mending please follow the Change item status to mending above procedure and fill out the BLUE form under the returns computer.

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country

Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA) 4.0 International License, unless otherwise noted. Content from this Guide should be attributed to James Cook University Library. This does not apply to images, third party material (seek permission from the original owner) or any logos or insignia belonging to JCU or other bodies, which remain All Rights Reserved.

.