Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Harvard Referencing

Guide to citing & referencing in this author, date style for JCU students

Dictionary & Encyclopedia - Electronic

Format:

'Defined word' year of publication, in Title, Edition, Publisher, Place of publication, viewed Date Month Year <URL>.

Examples:

Reference list:

‘Governance’ 2012, in Merriam-Webster's Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, Springfield, Massachusetts, viewed 7 November 2016 <http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/governance>.

In-text citation:

Merriam-Webster's Dictionary (2012) defines governance as ...

or:  

Governance is the way that a city, company, etc., is controlled by the people who run it (Merriam-Webster's Dictionary 2012).

Dictionary with authors/editors

Format:

Author, AA year of publication, 'Defined word' in A Editor & B Editor (eds.), Title, Edition, Publisher, Place of publication, viewed Date Month Year <URL>.

Examples:

Reference list:

Meadows, ME 2016, ‘Biodiversity’, in D Thomas, & G Andrew (eds.), The dictionary of physical geography, 4th edn, Blackwell Publishers, Oxford, viewed 9 March 2018 <https://search.credoreference.com>.

In-text citation:

Meadows (2016) defines biodiversity as ...

or:  

Biodiversity is .... (Meadows 2016).

Encyclopedia - no author listed

Format:

'Article' year of publication, in Title, Edition, Publisher, Place of publication, viewed Date Month Year <URL>.

Example: 

'Impressionism' 2008, In Philip's encyclopedia online, Philips, London, viewed 15 Feb 2018 <https://search.credoreference.com>.

In-text citation:

A major movement, first in painting and later in music ('Impressionism' 2008).

or:

'Impressionism' (2008) is stated as a major movement first in painting...

Encyclopedia - author listed

Format:

Author, AA year of publication, 'Title of chapter', in Title: subtitle, Edition, Publisher, Place of publication, viewed Date Month Year <URL>.

If an author for the entry is evident, treat the same way as for a chapter in an edited book.

Example:

Weatherall, D 2005, 'Thalassemia' in DN Cooper (ed.), in Encyclopaedia of the human genome, viewed 8 February 2017 <http://www.credoreference.com/entry/wileyhg/thalassemias>.

In-text citation:

The thalassemias are the commonest genetic disorders in humans (Weatherall 2005).

or:

As stated by Weatherall (2005) 'the thalassemias are the commonest disorders..."

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country

Creative Commons Licence
Except where otherwise noted, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC BY-SA) 4.0 International License. Content from this Guide should be attributed to James Cook University Library. This does not apply to images, third party material (seek permission from the original owner) or any logos or insignia belonging to JCU or other bodies, which remain All Rights Reserved.

.