Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JCU logo

EndNote

EndNote X9 Interactive tutorials from JCU - Getting Started

EndNote X9 logo

Before you start...

If you are using your own computer, make sure you have the latest versions of Word and EndNote installed. JCU computers will already have them installed.

To install EndNote - Windows

  1. Click on the Download EndNote link (here or the icon in the box above)
  2. Look in your Downloads folder for a file called EndnoteX9.exe and double click on it.
  3. Search your Downloads folder for a file called ENX9Inst.msi - it may not be near the top of the list.
  4. Double click on ENX9Inst.msi

Getting started with EndNote - Interactive tutorials from JCU

EndNote X9 - The Important Stuff: Backing Up

It is important to backup your library regularly in case anything goes wrong.

There are two ways to save a backup copy of your library:

  1. The first method of backing up EndNote library is to Save a Copy of your library.
    •  Menu bar highlighting File - Save a copy.Select File > Save a Copy
    • In the Save dialog box, the file name should have the word Copy at the end (e.g. My EndNote Library Copy.enl)
      You can either use this, or rename your copy (adding a date may be useful when you have more than one version)

       
  2. Alternatively you can create a compressed version (smaller file size) of your library that also contains your Data folder
    • Select File > Compressed Library (.enlx) Menu bar highlighting File - Compressed library (.enlx).
    • Choose from the following options:
      • Create your EndNote library or Create and Email
      • With, OR Without File Attachments
      • compress All References in Library, OR Selected References, OR All References in Group
    • Click OK
    • Name the file (the extension is .enlx), then click Save Pop up box showing preferences.  Radio dials should be selected Create - With file attachments - All references in library.

EndNote X9 - Creating a Library

First time users:

  1. Open EndNote: Start > All Programs > EndNote > EndNote program
  2. Create a new library: File > New 
  3. Save the new library in a location of your choice

You have now created your new library, which ends with the file extension .enl. A folder named the same as your library and ends in .DATA will be created at the same time in the same folder. For more information see Note 4. below.

To open your library: File > Open Library

EndNote X9 - Create a Library

Interactive tutorial - 2 minutes 11 seconds

EndNote X9 - Import References from One Search

4 minutes 58 seconds

EndNote X9 - Editing EndNote references

Full screen

1 minute 50 seconds

EndNote X9 - Choosing a Style

EndNote has a small number of styles already loaded into the Style drop-down menu, but you can find more styles and add them to the quick list. Drop down the Styles and choose "Select Another Style...", you will then be able to look through the styles that come with EndNote to select the style you want.

undefined

Please note, EndNote X9 was released before APA and AMA upgraded to their latest versions, so APA 7th and AMA 11th are not available as part of the downloaded EndNote package. You will need to download these styles separately (as you will for other styles like AMA 10th and Harvard) before they can be searched for by choosing "Select Another Style..." See instructions below.

Many of the styles in EndNote aren't quite right, and may require modification. We recommend familarising yourself with the style before using EndNote so you can see if the style needs to be modified.

EndNote X9 - Adding EndNote styles

  • EndNote offers more than 6,000 bibliographic styles.
  • Approximately 500 are included in the downloaded software, including the most common styles such as APA and Vancouver. 
  • Many styles are also provided for different journal titles that have their own styles.
  • Additional styles can be downloaded from the EndNote Styles Library.
    • Ensure you have EndNote open
    • In your web browser, search for the style in the EndNote Styles Library
    • From the style page, click the Download style button
    • From the browser window, choose the option to open the file in EndNote.
      • Chrome - click on the file in the downloads bar to open it.
      • Firefox/Mozilla and Microsoft Edge - choose the Open File option
    • Save the style to your Library by going to File > Save As. On a PC remove the word Copy from the end of the name. 
    • Close the style by selecting the X in the top right corner of the style window or select File > Close Style
    • To locate & select the style to use it,  in your Library, go to the Styles drop down menu and choose 'Select another style'. Search for the style using the Find box.

The University of Queensland has also created some styles for Australian Journals.

EndNote X9 - Installing Styles

Full screen

3 minutes 27 seconds

EndNote X9 - Insert EndNote References into Word

Full Screen

2 minutes 33 seconds

EndNote X9 - Edit EndNote In-Text Citations in Word

3 minutes 26 seconds

EndNote X9 - Find Full Text

3 minutes 23 seconds

EndNote X9 - Importing PDF files

  1. Select File > Import > File
    (choose folder if there are a number of PDFs to import from the same location)
    Screenshot of menu with File, Import, File selected.
     
  2. Click on Choose and locate the file you want to import
  3. Select the Import Option: PDF
  4. Click Import
    Screenshot of pop up.  Import File and Import Option, PDF highlighted.

EndNote X9 - Groups

3 minutes 34 seconds

EndNote X9 - Removing Duplicates

Duplicates can cause problems in documents such as references appear twice in your reference list.

To search for and delete duplicates:

  1. Go to the References menu and select Find Duplicates
  2. A list of duplicate records will be generated. 
  3. Duplicate records will be displayed side by side for you to compare and select which record to keep.
  4. You can edit records in the Duplicates window to add information from one record to another if desirable.
  5. Select records to keep by clicking Keep this Record above the preferred record.

EndNote X9 - Bulk Change Records

Use the Change/Move/Copy tool to add, delete or change the information in a field across multiple records at once.

This can be useful to add information to a group of references you have just imported with details such as the Name of Database, Access Date or search strategy.

It can also be a quick way to change the case in all the titles in your references - for example changing all titles to Sentence case (as required by APA, Harvard and AMA referencing). *Remember that you will need to change any proper nouns such as place names back to Title case.

To access this tool:

  1. Go to the group of records in which you want to add the information - e.g. Imported References
  2. Go to Tools > Change/Move/Copy Fields

EndNote X9 - Using the Find Full Text function

  1. Select the reference(s) you want search. Then click the Find Full text button 
  2. The Find Full text login box will appear. Note, you may get a Script Error message appearing on a PC. If this occurs, click Yes (or No) until it disappears
  3. If you are off campus you will need to login. If you see a page with 'Resources EZproxy is Configured for' then you are already logged in.
  4. Click Continue
  5. EndNote will attempt to locate the full text of the selected reference(s). You can see the progress and results of the search in the Find Full Text menu at the bottom of your My Library menu. 

Screenshot of Endnote, Find Full Text.

EndNote X9 - Installing Journal Abbreviations

  1. Go to Tools > Open Term Lists > Journal Term list
  2. Delete the journals that are appearing on the journals list to start afresh
  3. Click on the Lists tab
  4. Click Import List

    Pop up, Term Lists.  Terms and Lists tabs are circled as well as Import List.
     
  5. An Open file window will appear. Choose the list to download that is most appropriate for your topic. You can also choose to import more than one list.
    Note if you are on a Mac, you will need to navigate to the Term Lists folder. It can be found under Applications > EndNote > Term lists
  6. Click Open to load the term list to your journals list.
  7. Click Close to shut the Term Lists window.

EndNote X9 - Installing Journal Abbreviations tutorial

Full screen

4 minutes

EndNote X9 - Editing Journal Abbreviations

  1. Go to Tools > Open Term Lists > Journal Term list
  2. You can add New Terms for journals that aren't in the list, and you can also Edit existing terms and delete terms. 
  3. To edit an individual journal, start typing the name and the list should show the title you want. Once you locate it click the Edit Term button.

    Endnote screenshot of Term Lists highlighting Edit Journal.
     
  4. Make changes to the title of the journal and add abbreviations if required.
  5. Click OK to save your changes
  6. Click Close to shut the Terms List window.

 

 

EndNote X9 - Getting Started with EndNote Online

4 minutes 21 seconds

EndNote X9 APA 6th Style

   Important note:   

The latest version of EndNote (X9) has some errors in the APA style installed with the software.

Please download the new version of the style below and install it using the instruction to the left.

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country