Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote

Alternatives to EndNote

There are a number of bibliographic referencing software packages available that can be used instead of EndNote. This page lists some commonly used free alternatives to EndNote and provides a comparison table for EndNote, Mendeley, Zotero and BibTeX.

Please note that the Library does not support these products. Help is available from the product website.

Zotero

Zotero  provides an online library as well as a desktop version that can be downloaded from the Zotero website.

  • Sync your libraries across all locations and versions.
  • Store unlimited references and up to 300mb of attachments for free in your online library (additional online storage for documents can be purchased).
  • Unlimited attachments can be stored for free in the desktop library.
  • Attachments can include PDFs, audio and video files, archived web pages and images.
  • Use a browser extension to quickly add webpages and documents to your library.
  • Create bibliographies in MS Word, Google Docs or Libre Office using the Zotero plugin.
  • Share libraries with other users.

See the Zotero Quick Start Guide for help.

Mendeley Reference Manager

Mendeley Reference Manager is a free web and desktop reference management application. The desktop version can be downloaded from the Mendeley website. It also provides an academic social network for researchers.

  • Sync your libraries across all locations and versions.
  • Store unlimited references and up to 2GB of attachments for free in your online library (additional online storage for documents can be purchased).
  • Unlimited attachments can be stored for free in the desktop library.
  • Attach PDF documents to your references and annotate them in your library. Note other file formats can be attached but cannot be edited within Mendeley.
  • Use a browser extension to quickly add webpages and documents to your library.
  • Create bibliographies in MS Word or Libre Office using the Mendeley plugin.
  • Share libraries with up to 25 other users using Groups.

Getting started with Mendeley Reference Manager

See more Mendeley Guides

BibTex

 is a referencing format that is used to create bibliographies in LaTeX documents. 

LaTeX is a typesetting markup language that is used to create formatted documents. It is commonly used in fields such as IT and mathematics as it supports the formatting of formulas and mathematical equations.

The University of Melbourne provides a BibTeX with LaTeX guide.

Also see the BibTeX.org guide.

Comparison table

Features EndNote Mendeley Zotero BibTeX
Publisher URL EndNote
https://endnote.com/
Elsevier
https://www.mendeley.com/
Zotero
https://www.zotero.org/

No official site
BibTeX. org
http://www.bibtex.org/

CTAN
https://ctan.org/

Note that other referencing software on this page also allows you to output references in BibTeX format.

Cost

All staff and students have free access through the JCU site licence.

Software must be purchased once you leave JCU to retain full functionality.

free free free
Learning curve steep easy-moderate easy-moderate steep
Licence type proprietary proprietary open source open source
Access methods
  • desktop application
  • online library
  • iPad app
  • desktop application
  • online library
  • Apple iOS app
  • Android app
  • desktop application
  • online library
  • Apple iOS - PaperShip app
  • Android - Zandy, Zotdroid apps
references are stored in a text file with the file extension .bib
Storage for references unlimited unlimited unlimited unlimited
Storage for attachments unlimited

2GB

*currently JCU has institutional access which provides 100GB. This access will cease on 28/8/21

300MB

individuals can subscribe for additional storage

https://www.zotero.org/settings/storage?ref=usbf

NA _ attachments are stored separately to the BibTeX document.
Adding references
  • Import RIS or EndNote files from databases & Google Scholar
  • Import PDFs with DOIs directly into library
  • Capture bookmarklet for web pages
  • Import RIS or EndNote files from databases & Google Scholar
  • Capture extension for webpages and documents on the web
  • Import PDFs
  • Search Mendeley catalogue to find and add references
  • Import RIS or EndNote files from databases & Google Scholar
  • Import PDFs
  • Capture extension for website (including snapshot of webpage)
  • Lookup 
  • download BibTeX records from databases & Google Scholar to add to your BibTeX file
Referencing styles

6,000+

* EndNote comes with top 500 styles installed.

Download additional styles

9,500+ 9,800+

many

search CTAN for packages
https://ctan.org/

Editing referencing styles

within EndNote

Instructions

edit using the Mendeley CSL Editor

Instructions

edit using the Zotero Style editor

Instructions

BibTeX documentation - style hacking guide

Instructions

Word processor integrations
  • MS Word (PC & Mac) 2007+
  • Libre Office (PC)
  • Open Office (PC)
  • Papers (Mac) - limited functions

Compatability

  • MS Word 2016+
  • Microsoft Word app for iPad®
  • Microsoft Word Online
  • LibreOffice (desktop version only)
  • MS Word (PC & Mac)
  • Libre Office (PC & Mac)
  • Google Docs (any)
LaTeX
Sharing libraries

Desktop version:

  • Share library with up to 100 people
  • Online account and sync required to share
  • Can only sync one library to share
  • Can share PDFs 

Online version

  • share with up to 1000 people
  • Cannot share attachments
  • can share each group separately 
  • Share private Mendeley Groups with up to 25 people
  • Public groups have unlimited members - by invitation or open groups available
  • Groups must be created and shared in the Mendeley Desktop application
  • Can share PDFs in private groups
  • Share private Zotero Groups 
  • Public groups have unlimited members - by invitation or open groups available
  • Groups must be created and shared in the Mendeley Desktop application
  • Can share PDFs in private groups or public closed membership groups if file-sharing enabled by group admin

Zotero Groups

share BibTeX document with co-authors
Managing duplicates

Find duplicates function

Manually select and delete 

available in desktop or online versions

Find duplicates function available in desktop version

Finds and merges duplicates (manual confirmation to merge)

Instructions

Zotero automatically identifies possible duplicates and adds them to a separate folder

Merge duplicates (manual confirmation)

manual process in BibTeX document
Organisation and folders

Create group sets for categories

Create groups within group sets to tag references

Only one level of groups available

Create and nest multiple levels of folders

Tag references with keywords

Create and nest multiple levels of folders

Tag references with keywords

NA - single document
Attachments

Attach PDF files to records

Annotate files within EndNote desktop

Attach PDF files to records

Annotate files in Mendeley desktop or online versions

 

Attach PDF files to records or take snapshots of web pages

 

 
Other features

Manuscript Matcher to find relevant journals to publish.

Create citation reports for references downloaded from Web of Science or PubMed (note will only include Web of Science citations).

Mendeley also provides academic networking services.

Create a personal profile for other researchers to find you

Mendeley Suggest provides suggestions for articles of interest.

Funding and career databases are also included in Mendeley

Create a personal profile for other researchers to find you

Add RSS feeds to Zotero. Articles of interest can be added to Zotero with one click.

 

 

Other reference managers

There are many more options available for reference management software - both open source and proprietary. Some are freely available while others may require a payment or a subscription.

If you want to keep exploring your options, have a look at some of the software mentioned on this Wikipedia page, and check out comments in Twitter and the like to see what people think of the programmes.

 

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and acknowledge Traditional Owners of the lands where our staff and students, live, learn and work.Acknowledgement of Country